Suspended License in New Jersey
Searching the New Jersey MVC for matching Driving Records
Instant Driving Record - Exclusively Online!
Instant Motor Vehicle Report Includes:
- Driving Status
- License Classification
NOTICE: This is standard non-certified driving record. For a certified record, you must contact MVC
Get your personal driver's license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.
Driver's License Suspension in New Jersey
In the state of New Jersey, driver's license suspensions are administered by the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). Your license may be suspended for various reasons, including:
- Accumulating 12 points or more on your current driver record.
- Being at fault in a fatal accident.
- Driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol.
- Reckless driving.
- Failure to appear (FTA) in court or to pay fines.
- Failure to pay (FTP) surcharges.
- Failure to provide proof of insurance.
- Driving with a suspended license.
- Disqualification due to mental or physical condition.
- Abandoning a vehicle on a public highway.
All driver license suspensions in New Jersey are handled differently. In addition to any DMV sanctions, you may also face additional suspensions and penalties from your state and/or federal courts. Please note there may be separate court processes to reinstate your driver's license. In these situations, it may behoove you to get proper legal representation.
If you receive 3 suspensions within a 3-year period, you could lose your license for as many as 3 years.
It's also important to note if you are caught driving while your license is suspended, you could face up to 5 years in jail.
If your infraction is the result of a moving violation, the MVC keeps a detailed record of your driver history and associated point against you.
Here's how points on your driver record affect you:
- 6 points or more within 3 years: You will be assessed a surcharge.
- 12 points or more: License suspension.
- You'll receive a notice of scheduled suspension in the mail.
Accruing points on your driving record could also result in an insurance premium increase. For more details, contact your insurance provider.
For more information about points and penalties, please refer to our Point System in New Jersey page.
If you commit further offenses once your license has been restored, it will be suspended again for the following periods of time:
- 1st offense within:
- 6 months: 90 days.
- 7-9 months: 60 days.
- 10-12 months: 45 days.
- 2nd offense (and subsequent) within:
- 6 months: 180 days.
- 7-9 months: 120 days.
- 10-12 months: 90 days.
If you get arrested for a DUI in New Jersey, you are required to take a breathalyzer test. If you refuse a chemical test, your license will be suspended.
If your test shows that you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more, you are considered to be driving under the influence, and will be subject to any or all of the following:
- License suspension.
- Jail time.
- Installation of an ignition interlock device.
- Fines, fees, and related surcharges.
- Community service.
The period of license suspension and amount of your surcharges will vary depending on the circumstances of your infraction.
These determining factors are:
- Your BAC.
- Additional DUI convictions.
- Driving with an open container.
- Driving with possession of drugs.
For more information about specific DUI-related surcharges, please refer to our DUI/DWI in New Jersey page.
When your driver's license is suspended, it's important to get legitimate legal advice and proper representation. Whether you need a quick question answered, or you'd like a free consultation, find an attorney near you who can help.
New Jersey Intoxicated Driver Program
Any person that is convicted of an alcohol related traffic offense is required to complete an Intoxicated Driver Program (IDP) at an Intoxicated Driving Resource Center (IDRC).
- The IDRC evaluates each offender for an alcohol or drug problem and determines the proper treatment.
- If treatment is necessary, you must complete a minimum of 16 weeks.
- As part of the program you will need to attend mandatory Alcohol and Highway Safety Education courses.
The IDRC will monitor your compliance and report any noncompliance to the courts and IDP. Then the IDP will make its recommendation to the Motor Vehicle Commission to either suspend or restore your privileges based on the successful completion of your conviction requirements. Failure to comply will result in additional license suspension and possible jail time.
If you accumulate 12 to 14 points in more than 2 years on your driver record, you may be able to take a Driver Improvement Program (DIP) also known as a Point & Insurance Reduction Course (PIRP) in lieu of a 30-day suspension. This course can only be offered from approved providers throughout the state of New Jersey.
Upon successful completion of your course, up to 3 points will be removed from your driving record. There is a $75 fee that must be made payable to the MVC before you can schedule a class with a New Jersey licensed provider. You are also required to pay an additional training fee to your program provider for your classroom instruction.
More detailed information about the program is included in your Notice of Scheduled Suspension.
Before you are eligible for restoration all related suspensions and summonses must be fulfilled, and you must submit a proof of ticket payment to the MVC. For other restoration requirements, please refer to your original suspension notice.
Once your suspension period has elapsed, you will receive a Notice of Restoration in the mail in about 7-10 working days. When you have your notice, you'll need to pay a $100 restoration fee (see “Fees for License Suspension" below).
There are many variables that will determine your total out-of-pocket costs to reinstate your driver's license. The MVC will determine the total fees you owe.
A basic restoration fee is $100. For more information about the specific amount you'll need to pay, you can reach the MVC at (888) 651-9999.
In addition to your suspension fees, restoration fees, and possible court fines, you may also need to pay an annual surcharge that is assessed to you each year for 3 years. The DMV and/or your court will inform you whether a surcharge will be applied to your license upon restoration.
Acceptable Methods of Payment
- Online: Debit/credit card, e-check.
- By Phone: VISA, MasterCard, American Express debit/credit card.
- Call (888) 651-9999.
- In Person:
- VISA, MasterCard, American Express debit/credit card.
- Money order.
- By Mail: Check or money order to:
P.O. Box 4850
Trenton, NJ 08650-4850
CDL Suspensions in New Jersey
If you're a commercial driver, it's important to be aware that your commercial driver's license (CDL) is also at risk if your non-commercial license is suspended.
- An initial DUI conviction in a passenger vehicle results in a 1-year CDL suspension.
- A 2nd offense in a passenger vehicle will result in a permanently revoked CDL.
For more information regarding CDL suspensions, you can contact the MVC's CDL Unit at (609) 292-7500, ext. 5077 or visit our Commercial Drivers section.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.