Replacing a Lost CDL in New Jersey
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Done TA 10/5/17
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) requires you to apply for your replacement commercial driver's license in person.
The NJ MVC suggests reporting your lost CDL to local and state law enforcement. Remember, you cannot legally operate any commercial vehicle or truck without a valid, properly endorsed CDL on you.
Apply for NJ Duplicate CDL
Apply for your replacement commercial driver's license in person at your local NJ MVC office. Contact the office ahead of time for details on documentation you may need to apply for a duplicate CDL, as well as any fees you may owe for a replacement license.
Replacing a Lost Commercial Learner Permit
If you have lost your commercial learner permit (CLP), you can replace it by visiting a MVC office and:
- Passing the 6 point ID verification.
- Paying the:
- $11 duplicate CLP fee.
- $3 duplicate examination test fee.
Out-of-State Replacement CDL
Out-of-state commercial drivers cannot order replacement CDLs by mail. If you are out of state and have lost your commercial driver's license, contact the MVC for further details specific to your situation.