DMV Point System in New Jersey
Online Course -
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Study When & Where You Want
- 24/7 Customer Support
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Driving Record Points in New Jersey
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) will add points to your driving record when you commit both major and minor traffic offenses. Major traffic offenses generally come with higher driving record points.
On this page you'll find a general overview of the New Jersey point system and some of the common consequences of receiving too many driving record points.
If you have specific questions about your NJ driving record and the points you've incurred, please contact the New Jersey MVC.
New Jersey Points & Suspensions
When you are convicted of a traffic infraction that involves a moving violation, points will be added to your driving record. If you continue to accumulate points, you may be subject to fines or a suspension of your driving privileges.
Here's how it works:
- You'll be forced to pay a surcharge if you receive 6 points or more within a period of 3 years.
- Surcharges are fines that you must pay annually for 3 years. These charges are in addition to court fees or other penalties.
- Your license may be suspended if you accumulate 12 points or more on your current driving record.
Other violations that may result in an automatic suspension in New Jersey include:
- Driving while intoxicated (DWI).
- Operating a vehicle without a license.
- Driving a vehicle without insurance.
- Failure to pay child support.
- Failure to make a court-ordered appearance.
- Some drug-related charges.
- Drinking alcohol if you're under the age of 21 years old.
The NJ MVC makes it convenient to pay your surcharge:
- Online through its payment center.
- By telephone using your credit card: (844) 424-6829.
- By mail with a check or money order to:
P.O. Box 1502
Moorestown, NJ 08057
Common NJ Point Violations
How many points you receive for a traffic violation will depend on the type of infraction you've been convicted of.
Below you'll find common violations that could add points to your license. For a full list of violations that may result in points being added to your driving record, please visit the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission's (MVC) website.
New Jersey's least-serious points violations include:
- Failure to yield right of way to a pedestrian: 2 points.
- Disregarding traffic signals: 2 points.
- Driving the wrong way down a one-way street: 2 points.
- Blocking traffic by driving at low speeds: 2 points.
- Driving at a speed 1 to 14 MPH over the designated speed limit: 2 points.
- Not stopping for a traffic light: 2 points.
- Proceeding through stop or yield signs: 2 points.
- Any moving violation committed in a state other than New Jersey: 2 points.
3-Point Violations & Above
For more serious violations, you may have a higher number of points added to your driving record. Some of these offenses include:
- Disobeying right or left turn laws: 3 points.
- U-turn violation: 3 points.
- Passing in a no passing zone: 4 points.
- Speeding over the designated limit:
- 15 to 29 MPH over: 4 points.
- 30 MPH or more over: 5 points.
- Illegal racing: 5 points.
- Reckless driving: 5 points.
- Passing or attempting to pass a stopped school bus: 5 points.
- An accident resulting in personal injury: 8 points.
While the accumulation of points can result in a suspension, it is possible to have points deducted from your driving record.
In New Jersey, you can have up to 3 points removed from your point total 1 year after any of the following occurs:
- Your last moving violation.
- You've had 0 violations for at least 1 year prior.
- You complete an approved driver improvement program.
- Credit can only be received every 2 years.
Up to 2 points can also be deducted if you complete an approved defensive driving course. However, you may only receive point deductions every 5 years for each course you take. For more information, please contact your local MVC.
You can order a copy of your NJ driving record from the MVC for a $15 fee.