Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in New Jersey

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) has a set of rules and restrictions for operating certain types of non-standard vehicles. If you have a moped, motorized bicycle, low-speed motorcycle, or similar vehicle, make sure you’re legally allowed to operate it before taking it for a spin!

WARNING: Scooters in New Jersey

New Jersey law forbids drivers from riding motorized scooters on state roads.

New Jersey Mopeds

New Jersey defines a motorized bicycle or moped* as a pedal bicycle that:

  • CANNOT go faster than 225 MPH on flat ground.
  • Has no more than 1.5 brake horsepower.
  • Has a helper motor with a maximum piston displacement under 50 ccs.

You can ride a moped in New Jersey with a standard driver’s license. You will only need to apply for a moped license if you do not already hold a license of another class (see “Moped Permit & License” below if this applies to you!).

Moped Registration in NJ

Mopeds that are approved by the MVC must also be titled and registered in your name. This can be done at your local MVC agency.

Visit any MVC office with:

  • Proof of ownership—EITHER the moped’s:
    • Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO), if it’s brand new.
      OR
    • Title or old registration, if it’s previously been titled.
  • If the vehicle was never titled or registered, you’ll need a notarized statement from the last owner which includes the:
    • Seller’s name.
    • Date and price at which the vehicle was purchased.
    • Vehicle’s:
      • Model.
      • Year and make.
      • Serial number.
  • Payment for the $15 registration fee.

Moped Permit & License

You’re required to have a moped license in New Jersey ONLY if you have no other class of license. To be eligible, you must:

  • Be 15 years old or older.
  • Have a valid license in good standing.
  • Be able to pass a:
    • Vision exam.
    • Moped-specific knowledge test.
    • Standard written license test.
    • Road test.

Practice Makes Perfect!

Don't go in unprepared... take a couple online practice tests to get yourself ready for your written exams! You'll get a feel for the test format, and will get a preview of the questions you can expect.

To get your moped license, you’ll first need a moped permit. You can prepare for the written knowledge tests by studying the Moped Manual and NJ Driver’s Manual.

To apply, visit your local license testing center and:

  • Provide your:
    • Birth certificate, or other accepted ID document.
    • Social Security number.
    • Payment for the $5 moped permit fee.
  • Pass the:
    • Written exams.
    • Vision test.

The moped permit allows you to ride your legally registered moped during daylight hours for a period of no more than 45 days from the date it was issued. Make sure you keep your registration certificate, proof of insurance, and permit with you while driving.

Once you’ve gotten enough practice, schedule your road test with your local DMV office within 45 days of getting your permit. The Moped Manual has a list of MVS facilities that offer road tests.

To take your test, visit the test facility with your:

  • Moped permit.
  • MVC approved safety helmet.
  • Registered and insured moped.
  • Payment for the $2 road test fee.

Once you pass your moped test, you’ll be issued a moped license that is valid* for 4 years, at which time you can renew your moped license for $2.

If you fail your moped test, you must wait 2 weeks before scheduling a retake. If you don’t pass within the allotted 45 days, you’ll need to re-apply for your permit and start the process again.

What if I get a regular driver's license?

When you get a New Jersey basic or motorcycle driver’s license, you will surrender your moped license. You can ride a registered and insured moped with any class of standard driver's license!

Moped Laws & Safety Rules

Here’s a short list of some of the basic rules for riding a moped in the Garden State. You are required to:

  • Wear an MVC-approved helmet while riding a moped.
    • Check for the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) or Snell Memorial Foundation labels when buying a helmet.
    • Make sure your helmet fits snugly.
  • Drive on the right side of the road, just like all other vehicles.
  • Avoid riding on:
    • Interstate highways.
    • Railroads.
    • Sidewalks.
    • Highways that have 4 lanes divided by grass or concrete medians.
    • Highways with a speed limit of over 50 MPH.
  • Disallow passengers on their mopeds.
  • Obey all traffic laws.

For a comprehensive guide to moped laws and safety practices, check out the NJ Moped Manual.

Low-Speed Motorcycles

New Jersey defines a low-speed motorcycle as a motorcycle that has a MAXIMUM:

  • 1.5 brake horsepower motor.
  • Speed of 35 MPH on level ground.
  • Size of 50 cc.

You can use these vehicles as long as:

  • You have at least a basic driver’s license.
  • Your bike is titled and registered.
  • You are NOT riding them on:
    • State toll roads.
    • Limited-access highways.
    • Public roads with a speed limit higher than 35 MPH.

Trikes in NJ

Trikes are motorcycles with 3 wheels. You need a motorcycle license or motorcycle endorsement to ride one. However, if you take your road test on a trike, you are only allowed to ride motorcycles with 3 wheels.

Like all other motorcycles, trikes must be:

For information about motorcycle licensing, check out our page on motorcycle licenses in New Jersey.

Related Products and Services

DMV.ORG BBB Business Review
Advertisement