DUI Attorneys in New Jersey
A DUI attorney can help you understand your options if you're charged with driving under the influence of alcohol/drugs (DUI). The penalties for a DUI are significant and include fines, jail time, and other consequences.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
In many cases, DUI charges can be hard to beat since the police and courts have your blood alcohol content (BAC) reading as evidence.
Since the evidence is solid, you may feel like there's no reason to hire a lawyer.
However, your lawyer's expertise means that they can advise you on the best way to approach your case, such as:
- What plea you should enter.
- If and when you need to appear in court, and which NJ court to go to.
- What kind of paperwork has to be filed, and when.
Even if you're convicted, your DUI lawyer can also help you understand:
- The penalties you'll likely receive.
- How to satisfy any court requirements.
- Deadlines that you must meet for completing payments or other terms.
In short, a DUI attorney can ensure that you do what is required before, during, and after legal proceedings.
You can be arrested and charged with a DUI in New Jersey for driving drunk or under the influence of drugs.
NJ also has several crimes closely related to a DUI, including driving:
- With an open container of alcohol.
- While your driver's license is suspended due to a prior DUI conviction.
- With drugs in your possession.
A New Jersey DUI attorney can represent you in cases of driving under the influence and may also be able to help you other related criminal charges.
Penalties for DUI Charges
You'll face penalties from the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) once you're arrested and charged with a DUI.
If you're convicted, you'll face additional penalties from the court.
If you're caught driving with a BAC of 0.08% to 0.10%, you'll face:
- A driver's license suspension for 3 months.
- A fine from $250 to $400 PLUS additional fines and fees.
- Mandatory completion of an alcohol education course.
- A maximum of 30 days in prison.
You'll face stiffer penalties if your BAC is over 0.10% or 0.15% and/or you have prior DUI convictions.
For more information, visit our DUI & DWI in New Jersey page.
Getting a DUI in New Jersey has several long-term repercussions.
First, a DUI goes on your driving record and your criminal record, which could affect future employment, volunteering opportunities, and other activities.
Secondly, it's an expensive mistake. Not only will you pay court fines, you'll also pay:
- Fees for the drunk driving program you must attend.
- New Jersey MVC surcharges.
- Other possible expenses:
While hiring an attorney can add to the expense of a DUI, many people decide that the benefits outweigh the cost.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!