Vehicle Code in New Jersey
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Access the New Jersey Vehicle Code
Have you ever gotten a traffic ticket and not known what the violation numbers listed on the citation meant? Or are you thinking of contesting a ticket in court? Or would you just like clarification on exactly who has the right of way at a four-way stop sign? The place to look for such information is the vehicle code. Vehicle codes in this state may also be refereed to as a New Jersey insurance codes.
All states have a vehicle code―the laws that govern motorists, vehicles, and rules of the road. New Jersey's vehicle code is spelled out in Title 39 of the New Jersey Statutes.
While the New Jersey vehicle code will serve as a great source of information and can make you a better informed motorist, you should contact the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission with specific questions about your driver's license and consult an attorney for legal advice.
The Contents of Title 39
To see the contents of Title 39, click on the plus sign to the left of it in the menu. This opens up a submenu with a list of all the topics covered under Title 39: Motor Vehicles and Traffic Regulation. The first list you see is only the beginning―the red arrow at the bottom right of the page will take you to more pages listing the contents of the vehicle code.
As you can see, the range of subjects within New Jersey's vehicle code is staggering. Fortunately, the New Jersey Statutes offers a search function at the bottom of the page to help you narrow your focus.
Title 39 contains legislation regarding driver's licenses, special license plates, registration fees, driving and vision tests, titles, inspections, required equipment on vehicles, dealer licenses, commercial drivers, and much more. There are even rules for horses, pedestrians, and roller skaters. To give you an idea of what you'll find in the New Jersey vehicle code, we've listed a sampling of topics:
- Words and phrases defined.
- Licensing of drivers and classifications.
- Registration fees for passenger automobiles and other vehicles.
- Driving while intoxicated
- Revocation for refusal to submit to breath test and penalties associated.
- Fines for racing on the highway.
- Right of way at intersections.
- Reckless driving and punishments.
- Careless driving.
- Use of hands-free wireless telephone in a moving vehicle.
- Rates of speed.
- Speeding 20 mph or more over the limit and associated fines.
- Parking: Direction and side of street, angle parking, one-way street.
- Compulsory automobile insurance coverage and coverage limits.
- Certificate of ownership and associated fees.
- Dealer's license: Eligibility, terms, and fees.
Check Your NJ Driver's License Status
Whenever you need or want to check the status of your New Jersey driver's license, you can order a driving record report. This record will spell out if your driver's license is currently valid. Should your license have been revoked or suspended, the report will indicate that according to what's on record at the NJ MVC. This report will also show points against your license and, in some cases, information on any accidents you have had.
For more information on some related topics, please visit our pages on: