Suspended License in New Hampshire
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Driver's License Suspension in New Hampshire
If the New Hampshire Department of Safety Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) suspended your driver's license, you'll need to complete your suspension requirements to reinstate it.
Your driver's license may be suspended for reasons including:
- DUI/DWI offenses and refusing to submit to a BAC test.
- Accumulating too many driving record points.
- Reckless driving.
On this page, you'll find information about your suspension and how to reinstate your driver's license.
About Your Suspended License in NH
The duration of your suspension and your reinstatement requirements will vary depending on your offense. If you were convicted of a crime, you may also face court penalties and fines.
If your driver's license is suspended or has a pending suspension, the New Hampshire DMV will mail you a suspension notice.
Your driver's license will be suspended for:
- 20 – 90 days for any violation if you are under 20 years old.
- 180 days to 2 years for failing or refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- 90 days to 2 years for driving under the influence (DUI/DWI) of drugs and/or alcohol.
- 90 days to 2 years for reckless driving.
NOTE: The duration of your suspension will vary depending on the number of prior offenses you've had and the reason for your suspension.
Check Your Driver License Status
Traffic violations and accidents can lead to driving record points and possible driver license suspensions.
Traffic violations carry a point value ranging from 1 point to 6 points and remain on your driving record for 3 years.
If you accumulate too many driving record points, the New Hampshire DMV may send you a warning letter.
Depending on your age and the number of points you accumulate, the New Hampshire DMV will suspend your driver's license for up to 1 year.
You can order your driving record to check the status of your driver's license, see your driving record points and view your offenses.
Is your New Hampshire driver's license in danger of suspension? Order your NH driving record and make sure you're in good standing.
NH Suspension Hearings and Appeals
If you want to contest your suspended driver's license, you can request a New Hampshire DMV administrative hearing.
NOTE: Administrative hearings have no effect on court decisions.
Certain administrative hearings must be requested within a specific period of time after your arrest or receiving your suspension notice.
- Administrative license suspension (ALS) hearings must be requested within 30 days.
- Uninsured accident suspensions must be requested within 10 days.
Contact the New Hampshire Bureau of Hearings for more information.
- Phone: (603) 271-3486.
- E-mail: email@example.com.
To request an administrative hearing:
- Complete the ALS online request form, if you have an administrative license suspension.
- Complete the general hearing online request form, for all other suspensions.
- Mail a written request to:
Department of Safety
Bureau of Hearings
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
Reinstate Your Suspended NH License
Your reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the circumstances of your license suspension.
To reinstate your suspended license, you may need to complete any or all of the following:
- File an SR22 proof of insurance with the DMV, if required.
- Complete an alcohol education/treatment program, if required.
- Pay a reinstatement fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your Suspended License" below.)
To pay your suspended license reinstatement fees, you can either:
- Submit your fees in person or by mail to:
NH Department of Safety
Division of Motor Vehicles
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
- Pay your fees by phone:
- (800) 272-0036 (U.S. only).
- (603) 227-4070.
Once you've satisfied your reinstatement requirements, the New Hampshire Department of Safety will mail you a confirmation of restoration/rescind notice.
NOTE: If your driver's license has been suspended for 3 years or more, you'll need to visit your local NH DMV office and pass a vision exam, knowledge test, and driving skills test.
If you need to take a test at a New Hampshire DMV office, you'll need to bring a NH non-driver ID card or another acceptable form of identification.
Explore car insurance quotes with our New Hampshire Insurance Center and find a cheaper policy.
Fees to Reinstate Your Suspended License
Your reinstatement fees will vary depending on the reason for your driver license suspension. Below are general NH Department of Motor Vehicles reinstatement/restoration fees that may apply to your situation.
- Non-commercial driver's license: $100.
- Youth operator driver's license: $50.
To confirm your reinstatement fees, refer to your suspension notice or contact the New Hampshire DMV.
Acceptable Forms of Payment
The New Hampshire DMV accepts the following forms of payment:
- In person:
- Check or money order payable to “NH-DMV" with a note for “License Restoration."
- Credit card.
- By mail: Check or money order payable to “NH-DMV" with a note for “License Restoration."
- By phone: MasterCard, VISA, and American Express credit card.