Replacing a Lost CDL in New Hampshire
Pass Your CDL Written Exam with DMV Cheatsheets!
Get answers, save time and pass your CDL exam test the first time around. DMV Cheat Sheets advantages:
- Use Your Computer, Tablet or Mobile Phone
- Study When and Where You Want
- 24/7 Online Access
- Simply print and pass or your money back guaranteed
Get Your Test Answers Now!
Replace your lost NH commercial driver's license with the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). You can apply in person at your DMV office or by mail if you're currently out of state.
Replace your CDL as soon as possible; NH law requires a valid CDL to operate a commercial truck or any commercial vehicle without it. Also, consider reporting your lost CDL to local and state law enforcement to help protect your identity should your CDL fall into the wrong hands.
In Person Replacement CDL in NH
Head to your local DMV office with:
- A completed Commercial Driver License Application (Form DSMV312).
- The required proofs of identification and residency.
- The $10 replacement fee.
The NH DMV will provide you with a temporary CDL valid for 60 days, and will mail your permanent CDL to the address on file; if you've changed your address since your first CDL application, refer to our guide to changing your address.
Out-of-State Duplicate CDLs
If you're out of state when you lose or damage your commercial driver's license, your image MUST be on file with the DMV to get a replacement CDL by mail; otherwise, you're ineligible.
As long as your image is on file, you can submit:
- A completed:
- Commercial Driver License Application (Form DSMV312).
- Temporarily Away (Form DSMV 594) application.
- Payment for the $10 fee.
- Send a check or money order made payable to “State of NH—DMV."
Mail the above to:
NH Department of Safety
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
Once the DMV receives and processes your application, you'll receive a temporary CDL valid for 6 months by mail. Make sure you include your out-of-state address on the application.
NOTE: Once you're back in state, you must visit the DMV to properly apply for a duplicate CDL. Be prepared to provide applicable proof of identification and residency (Real ID compliant or non-compliant).
- DSMV 594