Menu

Pay Traffic Ticket in New Hampshire

Built Just for You

Online Course -

Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.

  • Study When & Where You Want
  • 24/7 Customer Support
  • 100% Money Back Guarantee
SUMMARY: How to Pay a New Hampshire Traffic Ticket

Depending on the court handling your ticket and whether you must appear in court, you might be able to pay your traffic ticket fines online, by mail, or in person.

Both your NH traffic ticket and the appropriate county court can provide you with specific payment instructions, and we've outlined the important processes below.

Continue reading this page to learn about paying traffic tickets fines in New Hampshire.

Pay Ticket
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)

Learn more below.

Fight Ticket
(Plead Not Guilty)

  • Contest traffic ticket via trial.
  • Choose to represent yourself or hire an attorney.
  • Possibly lose option to plea bargain for lesser penalties.
  • No penalties if found guilty, but must pay court/attorney fees.
  • Possible option to take driver improvement program and reduce points.

Learn more about
fighting your traffic ticket »

Pleading Guilty to Your NH Ticket

Paying a NH traffic ticket fine is an admission of guilt. This means:

Note that:

  • You must pay your New Hampshire traffic ticket within 30 days of the citation's issue date or you'll incur a $50 late fee.
  • Before you pay the fine, make sure your ticket does not indicate that you must appear in court; if it does, you must first appear in court before making a plea or payment.

Pleading Guilty as a CDL Driver

There are additional considerations for New Hampshire CDL holders:

  • You must notify your employer within 30 days of a traffic violation conviction.
    • This applies to all driving situations, regardless of state or vehicle.
  • You could face harsher penalties.
    • For example, some violations lead to temporary license suspensions or permanent revocations, which can seriously affect your income and employment opportunities.

Consult New Hampshire's CDL manual for more information on rules and regulations.

Advertisement

How to Pay Your NH Traffic Ticket

Depending on your situation, you might be able to pay your traffic ticket fine online, by phone, by mail, or in person.

Most methods require your traffic ticket or at least information from your ticket, so if you've misplaced it refer to Lost Traffic Tickets in New Hampshire for instructions on how to retrieve the information.

NOTE: Generally, courts do not process traffic violations unless the driver requests a trial; drivers must pay traffic ticket fines directly to the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). However, if you must appear in court or have any questions about payment information printed on your ticket, contact the appropriate court.

Online

You can pay your NH traffic ticket online as long as:

  • Your citation doesn't indicate you must appear in court.
  • You're paying within 30 days of receiving the violation.

Once you're ready to pay online, simply visit the DMV's Online Payment System, read all requirements, and follow the website's prompts.

By Phone

To pay your traffic ticket by phone, call the New Hampshire Bureau of Financial Responsibility at (800) 272-0036 and have ready a VISA or MasterCard.

By Mail

Your ticket should have information about how to pay by mail printed on it, as well as a place for you to indicate you're pleading “guilty."

Once you complete the traffic ticket, mail it to:

NH Department of Safety
DMV FR/PBM
P.O. Box 472
Concord, NH 03302

For information about accepted payment methods, contact the DMV.

In Person

You can pay your traffic ticket in person at:

Division of Motor Vehicles
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305

For information about accepted payment methods, contact the DMV.

NH Driver Improvement Courses

Typically, the state does not offer driver improvement courses for ticket dismissal; however, you might get the opportunity to complete a course and have and have 3 points wiped from your NH driving record. Ask the court about this option.

Furthermore, the court might REQUIRE you to complete a driving school to satisfy your traffic violation requirements.

For more information about these situations, contact the court or DMV.

Check Your Driving Record

You'll either plead “guilty" and pay your fine or fight your traffic ticket in court, but once it's all said and done, it's important to check your driving record.

Make sure your driving record show ONLY:

  • The number of driving record points associated with the violation.
  • The traffic violation for which you plead “guilty" or were found guilty if you lost your case in court.

We can help you check your driving record as well as direct you on how to contact the appropriate division for correcting any errors.

NH Tickets & Your Car Insurance Rates

Your auto insurance provider probably will increase your rates after a traffic violation conviction—especially if it was a serious violation.

If your premiums become too high for your budget, shop around for a new provider by comparing car insurance rates online.

Related Content

Provide Feedback

DMV.org BBB Business Review

Looking for Pay Traffic Ticket in Another State?