DUI Attorneys in New Hampshire
If you're arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) also called driving under the influence (DUI) in New Hampshire, you may want to consider seeking the help of a DUI attorney to make the process easier and possibly reduce your penalties.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
It's a good idea to do some research prior to committing to hire a DUI lawyer. You can read the following tips for more details about how to find the right one:
- Get a recommendation. Call your friends and family to find out if they know of any reputable DUI attorneys.
- Find an experienced DUI lawyer. Start looking for an attorney who has a lot of experience handling DUI/DWI cases in New Hampshire.
- Browse your local area. You may see better results if your attorney has knowledge of local NH courts, DUI laws, and law enforcement.
- Reach out to multiple lawyers. Since the initial consultation is normally free of charge, call as many DUI attorneys as possible.
- Ask about your fees. Be sure to find out how much you'll have to pay your attorney, and when payment is expected.
Keep reading this page for more information about DUI attorneys and charges.
Charges Handled by DUI Attorneys
If an officer arrested you for a DWI in New Hampshire, you were likely caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of:
- 0.08% or more.
- 0.04% or more, if you were driving a commercial vehicle.
- 0.02% or more, if you are younger than 21 years old.
NOTE: An officer can still charge you for a DWI with a BAC under the limit if he or she believes your level of intoxication compromised your ability to operate a vehicle.
A New Hampshire DUI attorney can help you with your court hearing if you were charged with any of the violations listed above. They can also help with any other alcohol-related charges, such as refusing a BAC test.
After being charged with a DUI in NH, there are a variety of reasons why hiring an attorney is a good idea. DUI attorneys can:
- Advise you on your best plea option.
- Represent you in court.
- Complete all paperwork for the court.
- Prepare you for the New Hampshire court process.
Although an attorney can never make any guarantees about your case, he or she may be able to simplify the process for you and have your charges reduced.
If you're convicted of a DUI, both the courts and the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will administer penalties. Depending on the severity of your offense, your age, and driving history, you could face the following:
- Driver's license revocation: Between 90 days to 2 years.
- SR-22 filing for 3 years.
- Completion of an Impaired Driver Care Management Program (IDCMP).
- Car registration revocation.
- An ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.
NOTE: If you refuse to take a BAC test, you'll automatically lose your NH driver's license for 180 days.
For general information about DUI penalties and charges in New Hampshire, please visit our DUI & DWI page. For specific details about your penalties, you'll need to contact a DUI attorney or the appropriate court.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!