Driving Records in New Hampshire
To order your NH driving record through the New Hampshire DMV:
- Mail in a completed application and payment for the required fee.
- Visit your local DMV in person with your fee and the completed record request form.
For details, including the form to submit, keep reading below!
New Hampshire Driving Records
Your New Hampshire driving record, or motor vehicle record (MVR), is an important document that contains information about your driving history.
If you need to order your driving record in NH, you can do so through the New Hampshire Bureau of Financial Responsibility Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
There are many reasons you may need a copy of your NH driving record, including:
- Work, legal, or potential employment purposes.
- To prevent identity theft.
- To check that it's accurate.
- For insurance purposes.
About Your New Hampshire Driving Record
Your NH driving record will contain the following information about your driving history in the state:
- Demerit points.
- Court convictions.
- Traffic citations/convictions.
- Driver's license suspensions or revocations.
- Date of your driver's license restoration.
- Your involvement in accidents.
- Insurance requirements.
- Ignition interlock requirements.
Your NH driving record will also contain the following personal information:
- Full name and/or previous names.
- Date of birth.
- Address (the most current on file with the NH DMV).
- New Hampshire identification number.
- An insurance filing/SR-22 requirement.
- Completion date of a safe driver course and/or driver attitude program, if applicable.
Any points you accumulate from any traffic violations/convictions will stay on your New Hampshire MVR for 3 years.
Need access to publicly available driving history?
If you need to pull only publicly available driving history—to include tickets and court records—our partner below can help you get this information instantly.
Note that this product cannot be used for official driving records, employment, or tenant screening—this partner is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act.
Disclaimer: BeenVerified cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. BeenVerified is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act.
Employer, Insurance, and Attorney Requests
Other people may request to see your New Hampshire driving record for various reasons, including:
- A government agency.
- Insurance companies, determining your insurance premium.
- Law enforcement.
- Potential employers conducting a pre-employment screening/background check.
- Attorneys working on a court case.
In New Hampshire, another person cannot access your MVR without your consent. You will need to sign their request form to grant them access.
Types of NH Driving Records
There are 3 types of driving records offered by the NH DMV:
- Insurance driver record.
- Certified driver record.
- Non-certified driver record.
NOTE: If you are uncertain of the type of driver record you need, please ask the person who is requesting it from you before you order it.
Insurance Driver Record
Your NH insurance driver record contains information about your traffic violations and accidents only. The report will include information from the past:
- 5 years for court convictions.
- 3 years for accidents.
Certified Driver Record
Your certified MVR in New Hampshire contains detailed information about any driver's license suspensions, revocations, restorations, convictions, and accidents you have had.
It will include information from the past:
- 7 years for court related convictions.
- 10 years for driving while intoxicated (DWI) conviction.
- 5 years for accident involvements.
NOTE: These periods are extended for commercial drivers.
Certified NH driving records are stamped with the Director's signature, a raised seal, and “Certified – True & Correct."
Non-Certified Driver Record
Your non-certified driving record contains the same information that's on a certified driving record, but it does not feature the “Certified – True & Correct" seal. This means the DMV does not accept responsibility for any errors that may be present.
Order a New Hampshire Driving Record
You can order a New Hampshire MVR either by mail or in person. You cannot order one online.
You will need:
- A completed Release of Motor Vehicle Records form (DSMV 505).
- Payment for the $15 fee.
- If you are mailing in your request, payment must be made by check or money order made payable to “State of NH-DMV."
Take the above to your local New Hampshire DMV office, or mail it to:
NH Department of Safety
DMV - FR Driving Records
23 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03305
Correct Your Driving Record Information
If you find an error on your New Hampshire MVR, contact the NH DMV at (603) 227-4040 to have it corrected.
It is important to ensure your driving record is correct as inaccurate information could lead to increased insurance premiums, fines, and even a driver's license suspension.
- DSMV 505