Drivers Ed in New Hampshire
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Driver's Education in New Hampshire
If you're a teenager applying for your first driver's license, you'll need to complete Driver's Ed as one of the requirements of the New Hampshire Department of Safety (DOS) Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Driver's Ed can be helpful for all new drivers. It will not only help to prepare you for the DMV written and road tests, but it will also help you become a safe, responsible, and skillful driver.
On this page, you'll find information about New Hampshire driver's education programs, your options for completing a course, and the next steps you'll need to take to get your NH driver's license.
NH Driver's Ed Eligibility Requirements
Driver's Ed is required for all new drivers younger than 18 years old. New Hampshire does not issue learner's permits; therefore, you do not have to obtain one before beginning your course.
You can start practicing driving once you turn 15 1/2 years old as long as you are accompanied by:
- Your parent.
- Your legal guardian.
- A licensed adult who is at least 25 years old.
You must also carry proof of your age with you at all times while in the vehicle.
If you are under 18 years old, have recently moved to New Hampshire, and want to transfer your out-of-state driver's license, you can either:
- Transfer your out-of-state driver's education course, as long as it meets NH requirements.
- Complete a New Hampshire Driver's Ed course.
Please contact the NH DMV at (603) 227-4075 for more information.
About Your NH Driver's Ed Course
A driver's education course in New Hampshire consists of both classroom and in-car sessions and covers topics such as:
- Operating a vehicle.
- Safe driving habits.
- Reacting to hazards and emergency situations.
- Sharing the road.
- Traffic laws and violations.
The topics covered and skills taught will help to prepare you for your NH DMV written and driving tests.
Classroom & Behind-the-Wheel Hours
Regardless of which Driver's Ed provider you choose, your program will include at least:
- 30 hours of classroom sessions.
- 10 hours of behind-the-wheel practice.
- 6 hours of in-car observation.
When you complete the program, your driving instructor will give you a completion certificate, which you will need to present when you apply for your driver's license.
Types of Driver's Education in NH
Both public high schools and licensed professional driving schools provide driver's education in New Hampshire.
The New Hampshire DMV provides a complete list of private Driver's Ed courses near you.
After you shop around and choose a program, contact your driver's education provider for details about cost and scheduling.
NOTE: At this time, the New Hampshire DMV DOES NOT ACCEPT online Driver's Ed.
After Driver's Ed – Get Your Driver's License
In addition to completing a driver's education course, to get your first driver's license, you'll need to:
- Complete at least 40 hours of additional supervised driving (10 hours must be at night) and submit a Driver's Out-of-Class Log Sheet (Form DSMV 509).
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Obtain consent from a parent or legal guardian.
- Visit a New Hampshire DMV office to take a vision exam, written test, and road test.
Always be prepared to provide proof of your identity when you visit the New Hampshire DMV.
For details on obtaining your driver's license, please see our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in New Hampshire page.
Drivers Out-of-Class Log Sheet - DSMV 509
Minors must submit this completed driving log to the New Hampshire DMV to prove they completed the required number of supervised driving hours as part of applying for a driver's license.