Traffic Tickets in Nebraska
Stay Informed on Ticket History
Stay up to date on the traffic ticket history of anyone in the U.S.—search public court records for a low fee.
"TruthFinder is a very accurate, updated system. Their information is proper and can be very helpful too." - Zak K.
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act. Please note that this is a subscription-based service.
Continue reading this page to learn what to do when you receive a traffic ticket in Nebraska.
Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties
Nebraska traffic ticket fines are consistent across the state. However, court costs will vary by county.
Refer to your traffic ticket for the total fine amount.
Driving Record Points
If the court finds you guilty of a traffic violation, you'll receive points on your Nebraska driving record that remain for 2 years. You may also see an increase in your auto insurance rates.
Dismiss a NE Traffic Ticket
If you have less than 12 points on your driving record, you may be able to complete a driver's education course to dismiss your traffic ticket or reduce your points.
NOTE: This option is only available to you every 5 years.
Upon the completion of a certified course, the NE DMV will remove 2 points from your driving record.
To find out if you're eligible, refer to your traffic ticket or contact the appropriate NE court.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in Nebraska
Depending on the court handling your traffic ticket, you may be able to pay your fine:
- By mail.
- In person.
NOTE: Some traffic offenses require a court appearance in Nebraska.
Remember, paying your ticket fines and court costs is considered an automatic “guilty" plea.
For complete instructions, check your traffic ticket or contact the court in the county you received your ticket.
Fight an NE Traffic Ticket
To fight your traffic ticket, you'll likely need to appear in court to submit your “not guilty" plea. Depending on the county court handling your case, the date you must appear may be listed on your traffic ticket.
If you have any additional questions, check your traffic ticket or contact your Nebraska county court directly.
NOTE: If you fail to appear in court or respond to your ticket, the court may issue a warrant for your arrest and the NE DMV could suspend your driver’s license.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
If you've lost your NE traffic ticket, you'll need to contact the appropriate county court for specific ticket information.
You may need to verify some personal information, such as your:
- Full name.
- Nebraska driver's license number.
- License plate number.
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
As a commercial driver in Nebraska, you must notify your employer within 30 days of a traffic violation conviction. This applies even if you weren't driving your commercial vehicle at the time.
For some major offenses, you risk losing your NE commercial driver's license (CDL) for 1 year, including:
- Leaving the scene of an accident involving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV).
- Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- Driving a CMV with a BAC of 0.04% or higher.
- Driving under the influence of a controlled substance.
- Driving a CMV when you are disqualified from doing so.
- Driving a CMV when your CDL has been cancelled, suspended or revoked.
- A felony committed using a CMV (included is dispensing, distributing or making a controlled substance).
For more information, visit our Suspended CDL in Nebraska page.
Nebraska Traffic Tickets: FAQs
Visit our NE Traffic Ticket FAQ page for more information traffic tickets, including: