Ticket Fines and Penalties in Nebraska
Nebraska Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs
Ticket ticket fines are uniform throughout the state, varying only when court fees are calculated into the total. For questions regarding your fine amount, contact the court listed on your citation.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine
- Incur points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation)
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates
Learn more about
Paying Your Traffic Ticket »
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Contest traffic ticket via trial
- Choose to represent yourself or hire an attorney
- Possibly lose option to plea bargain for lesser penalties
- No penalties if found guilty, but must pay court/attorney fees
Learn more about
Fighting Your Traffic Ticket »
Auto Insurance Rate Increase
Depending on the policies of your provider, you may see a jump in your car insurance premiums. Keep in mind that you always have the option to shop around for a new carrier. Comparing rates is the best way to find coverage that meets your needs and fits your budget.
NE Traffic Ticket Penalties
In addition to fines, you'll also face traffic ticket penalties. The most common penalties are points on your driving record and the loss of driving privileges. The actual extent of penalties are determined by past driving infractions and license type (permit, CDL, etc.).
Driver's License Suspension, Revocation and Impoundment
Depending on the infraction, the court may suspend, revoke or impound your Nebraska driver's license.
Suspended License: This applies to the temporary removal of your NE driver's license.
Revoked License: This means your driver's license has been terminated for a specified period of time. To drive again you will need to reapply for a new driver's license, requiring passing Nebraska's knowledge and road tests.
Impounded License: This means the court seizes and holds your driver's license for a determined period of time and then returns it.
Some of the violations that could cause you to lose your Nebraska driver's license include:
- Motor vehicle homicide
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Reckless driving
- Repeated violations of traffic laws, regardless of state
- Accumulating 12 or more points on your driving record within a 2 year period
- Accumulating 6 or more points within 12 months, if younger than 21
For a complete list of license-losing infractions, consult Nebraska's Driver Manual.
Check Your Driving Record
Keep abreast of your driving status by checking your driving record after being ticketed. Knowing where you stand with points might help you avoid a suspension by completing a defensive driving course. Learn more about removing points in our Point Reduction section.
Penalties for Drivers 17 or Younger
In addition to the penalties listed above, you may lose your Nebraska driving privileges for:
- Any type of court conviction
- Violating any of the terms of your learner's permit
Penalties for NE Commercial Drivers
You must notify your employer of any traffic violations. This applies to all vehicles, regardless of state.
CDL penalties carry heavy consequences. Not only can they affect your wallet, but also jeopardize your career. The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) provides a detailed list of traffic violation penalties.