Replacing a Lost Registration in Nebraska
Nebraska requires drivers to carry a registration card and display a license plate with a validation decal on their vehicle at all times. If you lose or damage any of these items, you’ll want to replace them immediately through the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Much of the specific process you’ll follow depends on the county you live in—we’ll walk you through the general requirements below.
Duplicate NE Registration Cards, Plates, & Decals
To replace lost, damaged, or stolen registration certificates, tags, or plate stickers, visit your county treasurer’s office in person and provide payment* for the replacement items.
Generally, you’ll be asked to provide your:
- Vehicle identification number (VIN).
- Plate number.
- Driver’s license.
- Insurance card.
- Registration certificate (if available).
*Fee totals will vary based on your county. See the fees section below for details.
Duplicate Registration Fees in NE
Fees vary based on your county of residence. For example, Douglas County charges $6.50 for a replacement registration and $14.60 for a replacement set of plates. Contact your county treasurer for specifics.
You may also be required to pay:
- State replacement fees:
- Registration: $1.
- License plate (per plate): $3.30.
- State and county program fees:
- Emergency Medical System Operation Fund: $.50.
- Department of Motor Vehicles Cash Fund: $2.
- State Recreation Road Fund: $1.50.
- County General Fund: $1.50.
Reporting a Lost or Stolen Registration
If your registration certificate, license plates, or decal are lost or stolen, you may want to report the loss or theft to your local law enforcement agency to help prevent the fraudulent use of your registration materials.
Having a police report on file can also be helpful if you are stopped while waiting for your replacements and do not have a registration certificate or valid license plate. However, you should still apply for replacements immediately.
The Nebraska DMV does not require that you file a police report in order to obtain a duplicate registration certificate, license plate, or decal.