DMV Point System in Nebraska
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) uses a point system as an easy way to track the traffic tickets on your record.
On this page, you'll learn the basics of the NE point system and how points can affect your driving privileges.
Points & Your NE Driving Privileges
Points can affect your daily life in a major way. If you accumulate enough, you may lose your driving privileges and will have to do some serious coordinating just to get to school, work, and even the grocery store.
In Nebraska, your age determines the parameters for license suspension:
- Under 21 years old: 6 points or more within 12 months.
- To keep your driving privileges, complete a Nebraska defensive driving course within 3 months of the NE DMV notifying you of a potential license suspension.
- All other drivers: 12 points or within 2 years.
Regardless of age, the length of license suspension will depend on the number of suspensions you've accumulated:
- 1st offense: 6 months.
- 2nd offense within 5 years: 3 years.
In some cases, if you're charged with DUI or DWI, your license will be suspended immediately.
For information about suspended driver's licenses AND tips on how to reinstate your driving privileges, take a look at our guide to NE license suspension.
Nebraska DMV Point Schedule
Below you'll find a list of common traffic violations and their corresponding point values. For the complete point schedule, take a look at Nebraska DMV's point system information page.
The NE Department of Motor Vehicles will also add points to your record for traffic offenses you commit out-of-state. So, while preparing for that road trip, make sure you're familiar with the driving laws in other states.
- Speeding on ANY highway and driving over the limit by:
- 1 through 10 MPH: 1 point.
- More than 10 through 15 MPH: 2 points.
- More than 35 MPH: 3 points.
- More than 35 MPH: 4 points.
- Driving with no license or an expired license: 1 point.
- Failing to yield to a pedestrian:
- Without injury to the pedestrian: 2 points.
- With injury to the pedestrian: 4 points.
- Texting and driving: 3 points.
- Reckless driving: 5 points.
- Leaving the scene of an accident you're involved in: 6 points.
- 1st offense and 2nd offense: 6 points.
- 3rd offense and all subsequent offenses: 12 points.
- Vehicular homicide: 12 points.
You may have to go to traffic court for traffic violations with higher point values. Take a look at our page on fighting NE traffic tickets for advice on how to prepare for court.
NOTE: Point values and punishments may increase if you have a valid Nebraska commercial driver's license (CDL). If you're facing CDL suspension, take a look at our suspended CDL page for help.
DID YOU KNOW: Car insurance providers check your driving record to determine if they should insure you AND how much you should pay for coverage. If you've committed a traffic violation, understand how your auto insurance will be affected to avoid any unpleasant surprises.
Clear Your Nebraska Driving Record
In Nebraska, convictions and their corresponding points remain on your driving record for 5 years. If you don't want to wait that long, consider taking a driver improvement course for point reduction.
As long as you have under 12 points on your NE driving record, you can remove 2 points by completing a DMV-approved driver improvement course. Points will only be taken off for violations within the last 2 years
The NE Department of Motor Vehicles allows you to take a driver improvement course for point reduction once every 5 years.