Pay Traffic Ticket in Nebraska
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Depending on the county where you received your traffic ticket, you may be able to pay your fine online, by mail, or in person. However, your payment options depend on whether you have to appear in court; your traffic ticket will indicate if you must.
Your NE traffic ticket and the appropriate county court can give you specific instructions, as we've explained below.
Keep reading for more details about paying Nebraska ticket fines.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine.
- Incur points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation).
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates.
Learn more by reading below.
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Contest traffic ticket via trial.
- Choose to represent yourself or hire an attorney.
- Possibly lose option to plea bargain for lesser penalties.
- No penalties if found guilty, but must pay court/attorney fees.
Learn more about
Fighting Your Traffic Ticket »
Pleading Guilty to Your NE Ticket
A “waiverable" traffic ticket in Nebraska is a citation that you can settle by waiving your right to a trial, and paying a waiverable traffic ticket is an admission of guilt (i.e. pleading “guilty").
- You pay the traffic ticket's fine amount, forfeiting your right to a trial by court.
- The state assigns points to your NE driving record.
- The traffic violation will appear on your driving record, causing a possible increase in your car insurance rates.
Your payment must reach the court before the appearance date printed on your traffic citation expires or you'll face additional penalties.
Pleading Guilty as a Commercial Driver
CDL holders often face more severe penalties, such as temporary suspension or even permanent revocation of their commercial driver licenses, both of which can impact income and possibly employment.
You must, by law, notify your employer within 30 days of being convicted of a traffic violation. This covers all situations in all states. Even, for example, if you're ticketed for speeding while driving a rental car out of state, you'd still be required to alert your employer.
You can learn more about commercial driver's license (CDL) rules and regulations in the Nebraska Commercial Driver License Manual.
How to Pay Your NE Traffic Ticket
Depending on your situation, you can pay your traffic ticket fine online, by mail, or in person.
- You'll need your ticket to pay the fine. Refer to Lost Traffic Tickets in Nebraska if you've misplaced your citation.
- If you're paying a ticket for which a warrant has been issued, the warrant will stay active until the court recalls it. Avoid an arrest by paying in person at the appropriate court.
Most traffic tickets can be paid online using Nebraska's Waiverable Citation Payment System.
Be prepared to enter your citation number and pay the traffic ticket fine plus an additional transaction charge with one of the major credit cards listed on the website or with an eCheck.
NOTE: The “Waiver Allowed" box on your ticket must be checked for you to pay your citation online; if it's not, contact the appropriate court for payment information.
To pay your NE traffic ticket by mail:
- Make sure the “Waiver Allowed" box on the citation is checked.
- Otherwise, you'll need to appear in court or contact the court for further instructions.
- Indicate on the ticket that you're pleading “guilty."
- Sign the traffic ticket.
- Write a check or purchase a money order for the amount listed on the ticket and make it payable to the institution stated on the ticket.
- Write the traffic ticket number on your check or money order.
- Mail the NE traffic ticket to the court address listed on the citation.
Simply visit the court address listed on your citation to pay the traffic ticket fine and any additional charges.
Be sure to call the court first to ask about office hours and acceptable forms of payment.
Defensive Driving Courses & NE Tickets
Depending on your violation, your judge might allow you to complete a state-approved defensive driving course to credit 2 points to your NE driving record. Generally, this option is available only for minor traffic violations.Learn more on our Point Reduction page.
Check Your Driving Record
- Your traffic ticket doesn't show up on your record IF your judge let you complete a driving school for ticket dismissal.
- Generally, this applies to the points associated with the violation, too.
- Your driving record shows only the violation for which you plead “guilty" or were found guilty in court.
- Your record doesn't show a violation of which you were found not guilty in court.
Your driving record can seriously impact your driving privileges; make sure the information is accurate to avoid license suspension, revocation, and even employment problems.
NE Tickets & Car Insurance Rates
Most car insurance companies increase policy premiums after a traffic violation.
Before you plead “guilty" or go to court and risk a guilty verdict, talk with your provider about a possible hike in rates; if you're facing an increase, it's time to compare insurance quotes online for a more affordable rate.