Green Vehicle Laws and Regulations in Nebraska
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Nebraska sets a handful of green laws specific to driving. This includes regulations for drivers of alternative fuel vehicles such as hybrids and electric cars. Read on for specifics on going green.
Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Registration
Those whose vehicles run on either of the following must abide by Nebraska's laws for alternative fuel vehicles.
- Solar power.
- Any other energy source used to fuel a motor vehicle not covered under NE's motor fuel laws.
AFV Registration Fee
If you drive an alternative fuel vehicle such as an electric car, you must pay an additional $75 fee on top of your regular vehicle registration fees and taxes. The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) assesses this fee during first-time NE registration and then each time you renew.
Emissions Testing and Inspections
Nebraska does not test emissions on any vehicles—fuel efficient and otherwise—as a requirement of vehicle registration. However, it might require your vehicle to undergo an inspection. For more on this, refer to our page on NE vehicle inspections.
Nebraska Auto Insurance Requirements
Regardless of whether you drive a fuel-efficient vehicle, you must maintain auto insurance coverage in line with Nebraska's minimum insurance requirements. The good news: Many car insurance companies offer discounts and incentives to encourage customers to drive in an eco-friendlier manner. For example, some insurance providers offer low-mileage discounts and reduced rates for those behind the wheel of electric cars, hybrids, and other alternative fuel vehicles. For more on how to save money as a green-minded driver, check out our page on Earth-friendly driving incentives.
Low-Speed Vehicle Driving Restrictions
Driving a low-speed vehicle in Nebraska comes with a few restrictions. For more on what the State considers a low-speed vehicle, scroll down to the last subsection titled What is a Low-Speed Vehicle.
In order to legally operate a low-speed vehicle, Nebraska drivers must have:
You may not operate a low-speed vehicle on any local highways that bear a speed limit greater than 35 mph. However, you may cross a highway on which the speed limit is more than 35 mph.
Also, in the interest of public safety, local authorities have the right to adopt more stringent ordinances governing low-speed vehicle operation as they see fit. For example, the Department of Roads may prohibit drivers from taking low-speed vehicles on any highway under its jurisdiction. For more on all access-to-roadway regulations for low-speed vehicles, refer to Nebraska Revised Statute 60-6,380.
What is a Low-Speed Vehicle
Nebraska defines low-speed vehicles as four-wheeled motor vehicles that:
- Can travel on a paved, level surface at speeds faster than 20 mph without exceeding a maximum of 25 mph.
- Have a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) that is fewer than 3,000 pounds.
- Comply with the safety standards listed under Title 49 of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, section 571.500.
Keep Up with the Latest Nebraska Green Vehicle Laws
Nebraska is ever-increasing its focus on environmental issues. In fact, it established the Natural Gas Fuel Board to advise the State Energy Office on the promotion of natural gas as motor fuel. Plans include even more loans, grants, and tax incentives. Keep up with the latest by also referencing your local Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office, the Alternative Fuels Data Center, and our page on NE green driver incentives.