Behind the Wheel in Nebraska
DMV Cheat Sheet - Time Saver
Passing the written exam has never been easier, thanks to DMV Cheat Sheets. It's like having the answers before you take the test.
- Computer, tablet, or mobile phone
- Just print and go to the DMV
- Driver's License, Motorcycle, and CDL
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Purchase a DMV Written Test Cheat Sheet
Nebraska Driver's Training
If you're a teenager applying for a new driver's license, you'll need to first complete either driver's training/driver's education OR supervised driving practice. This is a requirement of the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) graduated driver licensing (GDL) program.
Behind-the-wheel practice is an important step in your driver's licensing process. It will help you develop the driving skills and experience necessary to pass your DMV tests and get on the road with your first unrestricted driver's license.
On this page you'll find information about your behind-the-wheel requirements and the next steps in the NE GDL program.
NE Behind-the-Wheel Requirements
If you are younger than 18 years old, you'll need to complete one of the following behind-the-wheel requirements of the Nebraska DMV GDL program:
- Driver's education/driver's training.
- At least 50 hours of supervised driving practice.
You can begin your behind-the-wheel requirements when you are:
- At least 14 years old by obtaining a school learner's permit (LPE).
- At least 15 years old by applying for a regular learner's permit (LPD).
For more information, please visit our Driver’s Permits in Nebraska page.
Nebraska Driver's Training Course
If you choose to satisfy your GDL behind-the-wheel requirement by completing a Driver's Ed program, you'll have the benefit of gaining driving experience with a certified and trained driving instructor.
Generally, your course will start with classroom sessions that cover topics ranging from defensive driving skills to Nebraska traffic laws.
Once you complete the classroom component of the program, you'll likely begin your behind-the-wheel driver's training with your driving instructor.
Many driver's training schools will administer your DMV written and driving tests after you complete the course. Once you pass your tests, you'll be eligible to apply for your provisional driver's license.
For a complete list of approved driver’s training schools, please visit the Nebraska DMV website.
Supervised Driving Practice in NE
If you do not complete a Nebraska driver's training course, you'll need to complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice while you hold your learner's permit. At least 10 hours of this must be completed at night.
With your learner's permit, you'll be able to practice driving with a licensed adult who is at least 21 years old.
You can keep track of your behind-the-wheel practice with the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles School Permit/Provisional Operator’s Permit Driving Log (Form DMV 06-91).
Once you complete your hours, your parent/legal guardian or adult supervisor will need to complete and sign a School Permit/Provisional Operator’s Permit 50 Hour Certification (Form DMV 06-91).
Next Steps - Provisional Operator's Permit
You'll be eligible to apply for your Nebraska provisional driver's license after you:
- Turn 16 years old.
- Have held your learner's permit for at least 6 months.
- You must not have received 3 points or more on your driving record in the past 6 months.
- Have completed your supervised driving practice OR driver's training.
For more information, please visit our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Nebraska page.
School Permit/Provisional Operators Permit 50 Hour Certification Form - DMV 06-91
Nebraska DMV form certifying a teen driver in your care has completed the required number of supervised driving hours with their learner’s permit.