Defensive Driving in Nebraska
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Reasons to Take Defensive Driving
There are many reasons to complete a defensive driving or traffic school course in Nebraska:
- Obtain an employment driving permit: Completing a certified driver improvement course is required within 60 days of obtaining the permit.
- Reinstate your driver's license: If you lose your driver's license under the Nebraska point system, you are required to complete a certified driver improvement course before your driver's license will be reinstated.
- Underage point accumulation: If you're under 21 years old and accumulate 6 points or more on your driving record, you are required to complete a defensive driving course or face a driver's license suspension.
- Dismiss a minor traffic ticket.
- Prevent your auto insurance rates from increasing.
You can also voluntarily complete traffic school to have 2 points credited to your driving record. This credit does not apply to points you received after the date you complete the course.
You must have less than 12 points on your driving record in order to be eligible for the point credit. The credit is allowed only once within 5 years.
Nebraska Defensive Driving Courses
A Nebraska defensive driving or traffic school course can be taken from a commercial driving school or online. For a complete list of traffic schools and course providers, visit the Nebraska DMV website.
There are two different types of defensive driving courses offered in Nebraska:
- Smart driver course.
- STOP class.
Smart Driver Course
The smart driver course is certified by the Nebraska DMV and teaches you the fundamentals of avoiding traffic conflicts and future driver's licensing issues.
Smart driver traffic school courses can be completed to:
- Satisfy the driver improvement course requirement if you're under 21 years old and have accumulated 6 points on your driving record.
- Reinstate your driver's license (if it was suspended for accumulating too many driving record points).
- Satisfy the requirement of an employment driving permit.
- Credit your driving record with 2 points.
Smart driver courses last 8 hours and must be completed in person at a certified driving school.
A STOP course can be used to dismiss minor traffic tickets. By completing this course, you prevent more points being added to your driving record as a result of your violation.
In addition to this, you will also avoid any fines and court appearances, and you may even prevent your car insurance premiums from increasing.
The course will teach you the skills you need to become a safer driver, and help prevent you from committing traffic violations in the future.
STOP classes are offered by the National Safety Council and at some colleges in Nebraska, and generally last 4 hours.
Completing Traffic School in NE
If you take either traffic course option from a traditional Nebraska commercial driving school, you'll need to be present for the minimum required course time.
If you complete the course online, timers will be used to verify that you fulfilled the required hours.
Once you complete your Nebraska defensive driving course, depending on where it's taken, you'll either:
- Be given a certificate of completion to present to the NE DMV and your insurance company.
- Your course provider will automatically notify the NE DMV on your behalf.
The Nebraska DMV will update your driving record to show you have completed a defensive driving course and points will be removed where applicable.
For more information about traffic school or defensive driving courses in Nebraska, contact the NE DMV.