Lemon Law in Nebraska
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Nebraska Lemon Law
Discovering you've purchased a defective motor vehicle can be extremely frustrating. Fortunately, Nebraska's lemon law provides legal options to residents who believe they've purchased defective vehicles.
Generally, the standard for classifying a vehicle as a lemon requires that the vehicle be sent to the dealer for repair at least 4 times for the same problem or be out of service for more than 40 days.
Nebraska Lemon Law Eligibility
To qualify for protection under the Nebraska lemon law, your vehicle must meet the following criteria:
- The vehicle must be purchased in the state of Nebraska. (If you purchased your vehicle from another state, you should contact the Department of Motor Vehicles in that state to learn about your legal rights.)
- Your vehicle is less than 1 year old.
- The vehicle must still be under warranty; a vehicle sold "as is" will not qualify for protection.
Trailers and motorhomes are not covered by the Nebraska lemon law.
Your vehicle is considered a lemon if:
- It has been in the manufacturer's service facility for 4 times or more for the same repair.
- The vehicle has been out of service for at least 40 days.
- There have been no unauthorized modifications made to the vehicle by you.
Making a Lemon Law Claim in Nebraska
The Nebraska lemon law lets you choose to either go through an informal arbitration process or formally sue the manufacturer of your vehicle in court. If your claim is found to be valid, you'll be entitled to either a refund or a replacement of your vehicle.
If you wish to seek protection under the lemon law, you will need to notify the manufacturer of your vehicle. Generally, this is done by sending a certified letter to the company. Since the company must be given an opportunity to fix the problem, it is recommended that you send this notice after 3 attempts to repair or after your motor vehicle has been out of service for more than 30 days (cumulative).
The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has provided a detailed information page on its website about the lemon law for your convenience.
Hiring a Lemon Law Attorney in Nebraska
If you're dealing with a lemon, you may decide to hire a lawyer to help you navigate the legal process for getting a refund or replacement vehicle.
To choose a lemon law attorney in Nebraska, you can:
- Get recommendations.
- Ask friends, family, or colleagues if they can recommend a lemon law lawyer.
- Talk to other attorneys you know for lemon law attorney recommendations.
- Look for experienced lawyers.
- An attorney who has handled lemon law or other consumer protection cases may be more knowledgeable about the laws that apply to your case.
- Ask about their fees.
- Find out the lawyer's rate or total fee.
- Ask about other costs you may be required to cover.
You can book a consultation with several different lawyers to learn more about them before choosing who to hire.
Benefits of NE Lemon Law Attorneys
A Nebraska lemon law lawyer can provide different benefits depending on your situation and needs.
For example, attorneys can:
- Help you determine if your vehicle is considered a lemon under Nebraska law.
- Advise you on the best course of action or next step in your case.
- Complete and submit required paperwork and documentation.
- Represent you in an arbitration hearing, lawsuit, or other negotiations.
Regardless of your circumstances, having a lemon law attorney can give you confidence in the way your case is handled and save you time and stress.