Menu

Ticket Fines and Penalties in North Dakota

For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.

Licensed by the
California DMV
California DMV
Online Registration Online Registration
Same Day Processing Same Day Processing
E-copy of Registration E-copy of Registration
Alternate Mailing Address Alternate Mailing Address
Phone Support Phone Support
$29 Convenience Fee Learn more below

Start Your CaReg Expedited Registration Renewal

North Dakota Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs

Traffic ticket fines are uniform throughout the counties, but may vary within each municipality. If you have questions regarding the fine (or bond, as it's called in North Dakota) amount, call the presiding court listed on your citation.

If you've lost your ticket, learn what do in our Lost Traffic Ticket section.

Pay Ticket
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)

Learn more about
Paying Your Traffic Ticket »

Fight Ticket
(Plead Not Guilty)

  • Contest traffic ticket via trial
  • Choose to represent yourself or hire an attorney
  • Possibly lose option to plea bargain for lesser penalties
  • No penalties if found guilty, but must pay court/attorney fees

Learn more about
Fighting Your Traffic Ticket »

Auto Insurance Rate Increase

Depending on the policies of your car insurance company, you may also be penalized with higher insurance premiums. You can always counter a rate increase by shopping around online and comparing car insurance rates of potential new providers.

Advertisement

ND Traffic Ticket Penalties

In addition to traffic ticket fines, there are also penalties. Depending on the severity of the violation, points will be added to your driving record and your ND driver's license may be suspended or revoked.

North Dakota Point System

The state will assign points to your driving record following a traffic violation. Point amounts range from 1 to 24. The more serious the violation, the higher the points. The state will remove 1 point for every 3 months you drive without being issued a traffic citation. You also have the option to have points removed by completing a state-approved driver training course.

Driver's License Suspension or Revocation

Should you lose your driving privileges, it's always good to know the difference between a suspended and a revoked driver's license:

Suspended License― The temporary loss of your ND driver's license. Reinstatement requirements are dependent on the reason behind the suspension.
Revoked License―The termination of your North Dakota driver's license. Once the revocation period has ended, you must reapply for a new driver's license. This requires retaking the knowledge and skill tests.

Here are just a few violations that will cost your driving privileges:

  • 12 or more points on your driving record
  • Reckless driving
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • Fleeing from law enforcement in a motor vehicle
  • Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs

Learn more by reading the North Dakota Driver's Handbook.

Penalties for Drivers Younger Than 18

Teen drivers have less leeway when it comes to traffic infractions. In addition to the violations described above, you may also lose your ND driving privileges for:

  • Accumulating 6 {IDMV Point System}points} or more on your driving record
  • Overtaking and passing a school bus
  • Racing, or drag racing
  • Violating any driving restrictions

Penalties for North Dakota Commercial Drivers

You must notify your employer within 30 days of a traffic violation conviction, regardless of the type of vehicle you were driving.

Major Offenses

You will lose your ND CDL for one year if convicted of any of the following offenses:

  • Driving any vehicle with a blood alcohol count (BAC) of 0.08% or higher
  • Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a BAC of 0.04%
  • Refusing to submit to a sobriety test
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • Using the vehicle to commit a felony
  • Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a suspended, revoked or canceled CDL
  • Causing a fatality through negligent driving

Serious Offenses

These violations include:

  • Reckless driving
  • Improper lane changes
  • Following a vehicle too closely
  • Driving a CMV without holding a CDL
  • Driving a CMV without having your CDL in your possession
  • Driving a CMV without the proper CDL endorsement
  • Violating a state law of texting while driving

For more information about suspensions, please visit our Suspended License page.

Related Content

Provide Feedback

DMV.org BBB Business Review

Join the

32,014

people who have pledged through DMV.ORG to drive without distractions.

Looking for Ticket Fines and Penalties in Another State?