Suspended License in North Dakota
Searching the North Dakota NDDOT for matching Driving Records
Instant Driving Record - Exclusively Online!
Instant Motor Vehicle Report Includes:
- Driving Status
- License Classification
NOTICE: This is standard non-certified driving record. For a certified record, you must contact NDDOT
Get your personal driver's license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.
Driver’s License Suspension in North Dakota
In North Dakota, the Department of Transportation (DOT) can suspend your driver’s license for reasons such as:
- Accumulating too many driving record points.
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs.
- Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- Violating insurance laws.
- Being determined medically unfit to drive.
On this page you’ll find information about your ND license suspension, suspension and how to reinstate your driver’s license.
The duration of your revoked or suspended license will vary depending on your offense.
NOTE: If you were convicted of a crime for your violation, you may also face additional court penalties and fines.
When your driver’s license is suspended or has a pending suspension, the North Dakota DOT will mail you an order of suspension, which includes:
- The reason for your suspension.
- The duration of your suspension.
- Your reinstatement requirements.
Your ND driver’s license will be suspended for:
- 180 days to 3 years for refusing to submit to a BAC test.
- 91 days to 3 years for DUI/DWI offenses, depending on the circumstances of your offense.
For specific information regarding your suspended license, please refer to your suspension notice or contact the North Dakota DMV:
- By phone at (701) 328-2600.
- Online using the NDDOT contact form.
Check Your Driver's License Status
Traffic offenses and accidents can lead to points on your North Dakota DOT driving record.
Your driver’s license will be suspended for 7 days for every point you accumulate over 11 points on your driving record.
If you are under 18 years old, your driver’s license can be suspended/canceled if you accumulate 6 points or more.
Order your driving record to check:
- Your driver’s license status.
- The number of driving record points you have.
- Your traffic offenses.
Depending on your offense, you may be able to request a North Dakota DMV administrative hearing to contest your driver’s license suspension.
NOTE: ND DOT hearings have no effect on court decisions.
To request an administrative hearing, complete the online administrative hearing request form on the ND DMV website.
You’ll need to provide your:
- Full name.
- E-mail address.
- Birth date.
- Driver’s license number.
- Reason for your request.
If you don’t hear from the North Dakota DOT regarding your request within 2 business days, call (701) 328-2600.
Make sure you have someone experienced to represent you at your suspension hearing. Find an attorney near you today.
The requirements to reinstate your suspended driver’s license will vary depending on the circumstances of your violation.
To reinstate your North Dakota driver’s license, you may need to:
- Satisfy any court requirements.
- Complete an alcohol education program, if applicable.
- File an SR22/proof of insurance with the North Dakota DMV.
- Retake and pass the driving skills and knowledge tests, if necessary.
- Pay a reinstatement fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your Suspended License” below.)
Depending on your offense, you may be eligible for a temporary restricted ND license to drive with while your driver’s license is suspended. A restricted license will allow you to drive:
- To and from authorized locations.
- During specific times.
To apply for a restricted driver’s license in North Dakota, you’ll need:
- A completed Temporary Restricted License Request.
- Other supporting documents, if required.
Mail the above to the address Driver’s License Division address on the form.
Your reinstatement fee will vary depending on the reason for your driver’s license suspension. Below are general ND DOT reinstatement/licensing fees that may apply to your situation.
- Reinstatement fee:
- Alcohol-related suspensions: $100.
- Non-alcohol-related suspensions: $50.
- Knowledge test: $5.
- Driving skills test: $5.
NOTE: You may also need to pay any outstanding court fines before your driver’s license can be reinstated.
For specific fees to reinstate your license, please refer to your suspension notice or contact the ND DMV.
You can pay your reinstatement fees online at the North Dakota DOT website. You’ll need to enter your:
- Full name.
- Driver’s license number.
- Date of birth.
- Credit card information.
Acceptable Forms of Payment
The Department of Transportation accepts the following forms of payment.
- In person:
- Credit/debit card (at some ND DMV offices only).
- Online: Credit/debit card only.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.