Other Licenses & Endorsements in North Dakota

Special Licenses in North Dakota

If you want to drive certain vehicles or carry a large number of passengers, you may need to apply for a special license or endorsement through the North Dakota Department of Transportation (DOT).

The application process for special license classes and endorsements is similar to that of the regular, noncommercial driver's license. You'll likely need to:

  • Pass an endorsement/class-specific written knowledge test.
  • Pass a driving test in the type of vehicle you want to drive.
  • Pay a new licensing fee.

On this page you'll find general information about some of the license classes and endorsements available to you.

For information about obtaining a standard, noncommercial driver's license, please visit our pages on the following topics:

North Dakota Commercial Driver's License

To operate some vehicles in North Dakota, you'll need to obtain a commercial driver's license (CDL). A CDL allows you to drive:

  • Large, heavy vehicles.
  • Combination trucks and trailers.
  • Large passenger buses.
  • Vehicles carrying hazardous materials.

For more information about applying for a CDL, please visit our Applying for a New CDL in North Dakota page.

School Bus Drivers

To drive a school bus in North Dakota:

  • You must be at least 18 years old.
  • You must pass a physical and provide a medical card.
  • In a addition to a commercial driver's license (CDL), you'll also need a passenger endorsement.

You'll also likely need to:

  • Have a clean criminal record.
  • Have a clean driving record.
  • Pass a school bus knowledge test.
  • Pass a driving test in the type of school bus you want to drive.

School bus driver's license requirements are fairly standard throughout North Dakota. However, each school district may impose its own requirements.

Please contact the North Dakota DMV or read the School Bus Driver's Guide for more information.

Shuttle Drivers

You do not need a CDL if you operate a shuttle van or bus designed for less than 16 passengers including the driver.

Taxi Drivers and Chauffeurs in North Dakota

Taxi driver's license requirements vary with each municipality. Generally, you'll need to:

  • Hold a valid, noncommercial driver's license.
  • Pass a background check.
  • Have a clean driving record.
  • Pass a medical certification.
  • Pay a taxi driver certification fee.

For more information, please contact the North Dakota DOT.


North Dakota does not require a chauffeur's license to drive a limousine.

North Dakota Sport Vehicles

While many sport vehicles don't require you to hold a special driver's license, some may require you to carry a motorcycle endorsement. For more information, please visit our Motorcycle License in North Dakota page.


There are no age restrictions when operating on private land. When riding on public land, however, youth operators must be at least 10 years old, and either have passed a snowmobile safety course or own a valid driver's license.

All-Terrain Vehicles (ATV) and Off-Highway Vehicles (OHV)

Riders between 12 and 15 years old must either own a driver's license or have successfully completed an ATV/OHV safety class.

If you are younger than 18 years old, whether you are the driver or a passenger, you must wear a helmet.

DMV.ORG BBB Business Review