Pay Traffic Ticket in North Dakota
Online Course -
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Study When & Where You Want
- 24/7 Customer Support
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine.
- Option to plea bargain penalties.
- Incur points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation).
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates.
- Possible option to attend driver training course and reduce points.
Learn more below.
Pleading Guilty to Your ND Ticket
In North Dakota, paying a traffic ticket is the equivalent of a "guilty" plea.
- You are knowingly waiving your right to a trial in court.
- Unless otherwise stated, you can pay your ND traffic ticket online.
- You will accrue driving record points.
- The number of driving record points depends on the violation.
- The state might suspend your ND driver's license.
- Generally, this depends on the violation and the number of points.
- Your car insurance provider might increase your premiums.
Be sure to pay your ticket fine by the deadline printed on your citation; otherwise, you face additional fees and penalties.
Plead Guilty as a CDL Driver
Please note that as a CDL holder, you also:
- Must notify your employer within 30 days of a traffic violation conviction. If you receive a ticket outside the licensing agency jurisdiction you must notify the licensing agency within 30 days.
- Applies regardless of where you received the ticket or what type of vehicle you were driving.
- Face harsher penalties, including CDL suspension or revocation.
- This can affect your income and possibility employment opportunities.
For more information, review the North Dakota Commercial Driver's License Guide.
How to Pay Your ND Traffic Ticket
Depending on your situation, you can pay your ticket "bond" (North Dakota's term for ticket fine): online, by mail, and in person.
NOTE: You must have your traffic ticket to pay your fine. Refer to Lost Traffic Tickets in North Dakota if you've misplaced your citation.
Pay Traffic Tickets Online
Pay your ND traffic ticket online using the North Dakota Courts Records Inquiry (NDCRI).
Once you find your traffic ticket case, simply:
- Follow the instructions given on the website.
- Pay your fine using an accepted major credit card.
- Print the receipt for your records.
NOTE: If you can't find your traffic ticket, it might not have been processed yet. It can take up to 4 days from the citation date to process. Search again after this time or, if you're close to your deadline, consider paying your citation in person (see below).
Other Payment Methods
You can also pay your ticket by mail or in person.
- By mail:
- In person:
- Visit the appropriate court by the deadline printed on the citation. Bring an accepted form of payment, which might be listed on your citation.
- If you have further questions, contact the court handling your ticket. Your traffic ticket should provide this information. Again, your court might be a county court or a municipal court.
Defensive Driving & ND Tickets
You might not be able to attend a North Dakota defensive driving course to have your ticket dismissed, but:
- You might be required to take a driving class to satisfy a ticket.
- You might have the option to complete a course for point reduction.
Understand, this depends on various factors including the nature of your violation, the type of license you have, and whether you've already taken a class within a certain period of time.
Check Your Driving Record
As a record of your driving history, your driving record shows traffic violation convictions and points.
No matter how you handle your traffic ticket (whether you plead “guilty" and pay your fine or decide to challenge your ticket in court), it's important to check your driving record after handling a traffic ticket to make sure the information is accurate, as this information can affect everything from your car insurance rates to potential employment.
Check your ND driving record to see that:
- Your driving record shows ONLY the applicable traffic tickets.
- This includes any citations from the past.
- It should not show any tickets that were dismissed after you completed a defensive driving course.
- It should not show any tickets for which you were found not guilty in court.
- ONLY the driving record points associated with the violation(s) appear.
Learn how to check your driving record and which department to contact if you find inaccurate information.
Watch Your Car Insurance Rates
Chances are, your car insurance company will increase your rates after a traffic violation conviction.
You might be able complete a defensive driving course to decrease your driving record points, but this doesn't guarantee your provider won't raise your rates; policies vary by company.
Should your auto insurance company increase your rates, comparing car insurance rates online is a fast and convenient way for finding affordable coverage.