Scooters, Mopeds, Etc... in North Dakota
Looking for a fun and economical way to get around?
Zipping around on a motorized bicycle, scooter, or other unconventional vehicle is a great way to save gas and enjoy your time on the road—just make sure you’re complying with the rules and regulations set by the North Dakota Department of Transportation (DOT).
Motorized Bicycles or Scooters in ND
Whether you call your vehicle a motorized bike, moped, or a scooter doesn’t matter to the North Dakota DOT, as long as it is has:
- Pedals or foot rests.
- 2 or 3 wheels.
- A seat or saddle for the rider.
- A width of 32 inches or less.
- A motor that:
- Has less than or equal to a 49.98 CC piston displacement.
- Has no more than 2 brake horsepower.
- CANNOT propel the vehicle faster than 30 MPH on flat ground.
You do NOT need a special license or endorsement to use a motorized bicycle or scooter, just a license or permit of any class.
Your vehicle must be insured, titled, and registered.
Register Your Motorized Bicycle
Register and/or title your moped by visiting your local North Dakota DOT office and providing:
- A completed Application for Certificate of Title & Registration of a Vehicle (Form SFN 2872).
- A Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) or title (if you have one).
- Your vehicle for inspection.
- Payment for the applicable fees. See the fees section below for details.
Motorized Bicycle & Scooter Safety ND
To ride your motorized bicycle or scooter on North Dakota streets, you must:
- Stay off the sidewalks.
- Obey all traffic laws and regulations.
- Have your vehicle equipped with:
- A headlight.
- A taillight.
- Wear a motorcycle helmet, if you’re under 18 years old.
Unconventional Vehicles in ND
The North Dakota DOT has a special classification for certain vehicles that do not fit into any other categories called “Unconventional Vehicles”.
These vehicles must be able to drive faster than 65 MPH and have:
- 3 wheels or more.
- A weight between 300 and 8000 lbs.
- A steering wheel that controls the front tires.
- Seat belts.
- An identification number.
- A non-saddle seat.
To drive a vehicle like this, you need a Class D (standard auto) license.
These vehicles must be titled, registered, and insured. To register your unconventional vehicle that has previously been titled, follow the instructions on our page about registering vehicles in North Dakota.
If your unconventional vehicle has never been titled before, you will need to have:
- A Certificate of Vehicle Inspection (Form SFN 2486) completed by a repair business that is registered with the Secretary of State.
- A completed:
- Application for Certificate of Title & Registration of a Vehicle (Form SFN 2872).
- Vehicle Statement of Ownership (Form SFN 2903).
- Seller Certificate and Vehicle Bill of Sale (Form SFN 2888) filled out by the seller (if applicable).
- You may be asked to provide a notarized statement of fact.
- Payment for the applicable fees. See the fees section below for a detailed breakdown of costs.
ND Title & Registration Fees for Other Vehicles
Here is a list of the fees* that apply to titling and registering mopeds, motorized bicycles, scooters, and unconventional vehicles.
- Motorcycle plate: $25.
- For mopeds, motorized bicycles, and scooters.
- Unconventional plate: $50.
- For unconventional vehicles defined in the section above.
- Unsatisfied judgment: $1.
- Applies to all on-highway vehicles except trailers.
- Certificate of Title*: $5.
- Discarded vehicle disposal*: $1.50.
- Motor vehicle excise tax: 5% of the vehicle’s value title.
*NOTE:These fees only apply if you need to title your vehicle.
- SFN 2872
- SFN 2888
- SFN 2903
- SFN 2486