Other Vehicle Registrations in North Dakota
If you're 12 to 15 years old, you can only drive an ATV if you have an Off-Highway Vehicle Safety Training certificate unless you have a driver's license or learner's permit. For more information on this training course see the North Dakota Parks and Recreation Department website.
To register an ATV you must complete an Application for Certificate of Title & Registration of a Vehicle (Form SFN 2872) and drop it off along with a $20 registration fee.
You'll be issued a registration certificate and number. The license number must be affixed to the rear of the left front fender.
Your ATV's registration is valid for 2 years.
Out-of-state visitors will need to buy a non-resident public trails and lands access permit for their registered OHV. This can be purchased online for a fee of $10.
To register a snowmobile you need to complete an Application for Certificate of Title & Registration of a Vehicle (Form SFN 2872). Drop this off with at any motor vehicle office along with a registration fee of $50 registration fee.
You'll be given a registration certificate and registration number. The number must be displayed on both sides of your snowmobile.
You must renew your snowmobile's registration every odd-numbered year.
Out-of-state visitors will need to buy a non-resident public trails and lands access permit for their registered OHV. This can be purchased online for a fee of $25.
In order to register a trailer you will need to complete Application for Certificate of Title & Registration of a Vehicle (Form SFN 2872) and take it, along with Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO), to your local
motor vehicle office.
If the trailer weighs less than 1,500 lbs. all you will need is the $5 fee for an ID plate, unless you use the trailer to transport a vehicle for competitions. If it's used for that purpose or if it's 1,500 lbs. or more, you will need to pay a title fee and excise tax.
A boat trailer does not need to be registered as long you keep it in North Dakota.
RVs and Motorhomes
If you own a recreational vehicle (RV) or motorhome, be sure to register it with the North Dakota DOT first before you take it out for a spin. Failure to do so can result in you having to pay a fine.
The steps are the same as registering a regular vehicle. However, you may also be required to complete a State Board of Equalization Statement of Mobile Home Full Consideration (Form SFN 3004) with your registration/title application.
To register your custom-built vehicle in North Dakota, simply follow the instructions on the ND Vehicle Registration page. You will likely need to have a VIN assigned to your vehicle before registering, as well as obtain a certificate of title. You should also bring any bills of sale, receipts, or invoices for all major parts you used in constructing the vehicle to the ND DOT office.
For specifics about your vehicle, contact your local DOT.
Moped Registration in ND
Mopeds must be registered in North Dakota and are issued motorcycle license plates.
A moped is defined by the state as a vehicle with:
- 2 to 3 wheels, PLUS pedals OR a foot rest.
- A maximum width of 32 inches.
- An engine of no more than 3.05 cubic inches and 2 horsepower.
- A maximum speed of 30 MPH.
- An automatic transmission.
- SFN 2872
- SFN 3004
- State Board of Equalization Statement of Mobile Home Full Consideration
- Use this form to transfer the title of a mobile home in North Dakota.