Drivers in the Military in North Dakota
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
The Department of Transportation (NDDOT), as stated in 39-06-19.1 of the North Dakota Century Code, allows active military members to hold expired driver's licenses. The only caveat is that in addition to your license you must also carry, when driving, proof that you are in the armed services.
Once you do exit from active duty, you will have a window of 30 days in which to renew your North Dakota license.
NDDOT also extends exemptions towards vehicle registration (39-04-18 of the North Dakota Century Code). If you are out of state on active duty causing you to miss the annual registration process, you will not face any penalties―providing you show proof that your car was not in use while unlicensed.