Replacing a Lost Registration in North Carolina
Replace Your North Carolina Registration
To replace a lost, stolen, or damaged registration, license plate, or license place sticker in North Carolina, you must request a replacement from the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Once the DMV receives the application, supporting documents, and fees, they will process the replacement. If you go in person, you can get most replacements right away. Mail times vary based on where you live.
NOTE: You CANNOT get a replacement registration, license plate, or sticker if yours was confiscated by a law enforcement officer.
Replacing a North Carolina Registration
You can replace your registration card:
- By mail.
- In person.
Let's go through each option below.
Replacing a NC Plate Decal
You can request a replacement license plate or sticker:
- By mail.
- In person.
To receive new license plates or a sticker by mail, you will need:
- A completed Application for Replacement Plate and/or Sticker (Form MVR-18).
- Be sure to have your signature notarized.
- Proof of car insurance, such as your insurance card or another accepted document.
- Check or money order for the $21.50 license plate replacement fee. Sticker fees may vary.
Mail the form and accompanying materials to:
NC Division of Motor Vehicles
3148 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27697
To request a replacement license plate or sticker in person at a DMV or tag office, you will need:
- The Application for Replacement Plate and/or Sticker (Form MVR-18).
- The form must be notarized.
- Proof of your age and identity, such as your NC driver's license or other accepted identity document.
- Proof of your car insurance, such as your insurance card or other insurance document.
- Cash, check, or money order to pay your fees:
- $21.50 fee for a replacement license plate.
- Fees for stickers may vary.
Reporting Lost or Stolen Registration
The NC DMV does NOT require you to report the loss, theft, or damage of a registration, license plate, or sticker to any law enforcement agency.
However, there are a number of reasons that you may wish to file a report, including prevention of fraud and identity theft, as well as avoiding tickets and fines you could receive for driving without a valid registration or license plates.
To protect yourself, you can report the loss, theft, or damage of a registration card, license plate, or sticker to your local law enforcement agency.