Personal Injury Attorneys in North Carolina
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Getting into a car crash can be overwhelming, especially when you've been injured. A personal injury attorney can help you get through your case and get the compensation you deserve. Make sure you ask some questions to determine which one to hire, and understand the NC personal injury laws relevant to your case.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
Hiring a NC Personal Injury Lawyer
Getting injured in an auto accident can be overwhelming for a number of reasons. You may be in pain and dealing with multiple doctor's appointments, medical bills, and the car insurance companies involved.
Hiring a personal injury attorney can help you deal with your case confident your rights are being represented and that you have leverage to deal with the insurance company.
You should seriously consider hiring a NC personal injury lawyer if your case is very complicated and involves:
- Serious injuries and/or significant impairment of bodily function.
- Exacerbation of existing injuries.
- This can be hard to prove without the help of an experienced attorney.
- Difficult negotiations with the car insurance companies and/or inappropriately low settlement offers.
- Non-economic losses, such as pain and suffering.
Tips for Hiring a Personal Injury Attorney
As you hire a NC personal injury attorney, there are certain things you should consider before making a final decision. At a minimum, you should ask about the following:
- How many years have they been practicing law?
- Is personal injury their primary focus?
- Track record.
- How many personal injury cases have they taken on?
- How many have they won?
- Do they think you'll win your case?
- How long will it take to resolve?
- What are the fees?
- What are your payment options?
Like any service, it's smart to do some â€œcomparison shopping". Interview several attorneys before deciding which one will best suit your needs.
NC Personal Injury Laws
Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury
Each state gives a certain window of time to pursue a personal injury case in court. This is referred to as the state's â€œstatute of limitations."
In North Carolina, the statute of limitations is 3 years from the date of your injury.
If you are injured in your car accident and neglect to pursue a lawsuit in this time period, you'll find it extremely difficult, if not impossible, to pursue your case in court.
If you do wish to pursue a personal injury lawsuit, make sure you contact and hire an a personal injury lawyer well before the 3 years is up.
Fault Laws in North Carolina
Fault in auto accidents is not always cut and dry. You may have been hit and believe the other driver is 100% responsible, only to find that his insurance provider alleges you are partially at fault.
When this happens, the state determines how much compensation you can pursue. North Carolina uses the contributory negligence rule to determine compensation for an accident.
It sounds complicated, but it's actually pretty simple. If you get into an accident and it is partially your fault you can collect no compensation.
Personal injury attorneys in North Carolina are familiar with this law, as the courts MUST follow it, and should be able to answer any questions you have about how it might play into your case.