DUI Attorneys in North Carolina
When you're charged with driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), a DUI attorney can be an important resource for understanding your next steps. A DWI is a serious charge with several possible penalties, including a fine and jail time.
NOTE: >The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
If you're charged with a DWI in North Carolina, you may choose to hire an attorney to represent you.
A DUI or DWI lawyer can help in several ways, such as:
- Appearing in court on your behalf or accompanying you to court.
- Filing required paperwork with the court.
- Advising you on the best course of action for your case.
By handling these details, your DUI lawyer can save you time and assure you that you're fulfilling all of your legal obligations.
To better understand the role and benefits of a DUI attorney, you should first understand what happens when you get a DWI in North Carolina.
You'll be arrested and charged with a DWI if you drive drunk or under the influence of drugs.
In most cases, a law enforcement officer will give you a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test or similar test to determine your level of intoxication.
If your BAC is 0.08% or higher, you'll face DWI charges. You can also be charged if:
- You refuse to take a BAC test.
- You're a commercial driver with a BAC of at least 0.04%.
- You're under 21 years old with a BAC of 0.01%.
DUI lawyers are usually those who have specific experience in handling these types of charges.
Penalties for a DWI in North Carolina include both a driver's license suspension and other court-imposed penalties.
A DWI lawyer can advise of the plea you should enter and the level of punishment you might expect based on the details of your case.
Driver's License Suspension
Once you're arrested and charged with a DUI, the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend your driver's license for 30 days.
If you're convicted of the charge, your driver's license will be suspended for:
- 1 year for your 1st offense.
- 4 years for a 2nd offense.
- Permanently for subsequent offenses.
- 1 year for refusing a BAC test.
In addition to a NC driver's license suspension, a DWI conviction requires that you:
- Are assessed for a substance abuse problem.
- Take a course or enter a treatment program based on the assessment.
The court can ALSO impose:
- A fine.
- Jail time.
- Community service.
If you receive additional penalties, your DUI lawyer should be able to explain how and where to carry them out, as well as any deadlines you'll have to meet.
A DWI conviction can be very expensive. In addition to court fees and fines, you'll also pay:
- Driver's license reinstatement fees.
- Alcohol education or treatment program fees.
- Higher car insurance rates.
Some people hesitate to hire a lawyer because of the added cost.
However, a lawyer's expertise ensures that you receive the best possible outcome for your case.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!