Traffic Tickets in Montana
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act.
Continue reading this page to learn more about handling a traffic ticket in Montana.
MT Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties
Montana traffic ticket fines and surcharges vary by violation. The more severe your violation, the harsher your penalties and fines.
Your traffic ticket should show the amount you have been charged. If you do not have your Montana traffic ticket, please contact the appropriate MT traffic court for this information.
In some cases, where a court appearance is required, you may need to wait for the judge to decide your final ticket fine amount.
NOTE: Be sure to respond to your traffic ticket by the deadline date. Failure to do so can result in a warrant for your arrest and a driver’s license suspension.
Driving Record Points
When you're convicted of a traffic violation, the Montana Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) will add points to your driving record. These points can affect your driver's license and insurance rates for up to 3 years.
NOTE: You cannot remove points from your driving record by completing traffic school.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in Montana
Depending on the Montana court handling your traffic ticket, you may be able to pay it:
- By mail.
- In person.
For specific instructions, refer to your MT traffic ticket or contact the traffic court listed.
NOTE: Some traffic tickets require a court appearance. Your traffic ticket should advise if this is necessary.
Fight a MT Traffic Ticket
To submit a “ not guilty" plea and fight your traffic ticket in Montana, you will likely need to appear in court at the date and time shown on your traffic ticket. This process may vary depending on where you received your ticket.
For specific instructions, check your traffic ticket or contact the appropriate traffic court in Montana.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
If you've lost your MT traffic citation, contact the Montana court in the county where you received it.
You will likely need to provide some personal information, including your:
- Full name.
- Date of birth.
- MT driver's license number.
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
If you're a commercial driver in Montana, you must notify your employer within 30 days of being convicted for a traffic violation. (This does note include parking tickets.)
Some major offenses can result in a suspension of your commercial driver's license (CDL) for 1 year, including:
- Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) when you have been disqualified or with a revoked, cancelled or suspended CDL
- Driving a CMV with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
- Not remaining at the scene of an accident.
- Refusing to submit to a BAC test upon request.
- CMV operated negligently which causes a fatality.
- Distributing, making or dispensing a controlled substance ot other felony crime committed using a CMV.
For more information, please read our Montana CDL Suspensions page.
Montana Traffic Tickets: FAQs
You can visit our Traffic Ticket FAQ page for more info about the following topics: