Other Vehicle Registrations in Montana
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
In Montana, vehicles other than regular cars—including snowmobiles, all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), and trailers—need to be registered and/or titled with the Montana Department of Justice (DOJ) Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).
For additional information about registering other vehicles in Montana, visit our other pages:
Snowmobile Registration in Montana
The Montana MVD requires that snowmobiles be permanently registered. This means you pay one flat rate of $60.50 and then never have to worry about annual registration forms and fees, as long as you own the snowmobile.
Snowmobile rental companies are exempt from this rule. Instead, rental snowmobiles can be registered annually for the first 2 years ($40.50 for the 1st year, $20 for the 2nd year), but starting the 3rd year, the snowmobiles must be permanently registered.
To register your snowmobile, bring your registration fee to your local Montana county treasurer's office.
You'll receive a gold registration decal with the word "Perm" (short for permanent) that must be affixed to the left side of the snowmobile's cowl.
Register Your ATV in MT
An ATV, or what is defined in the Montana statute as a quadricycle, requires permanent registration with the MT MVD. If you plan on operating your ATV on any type of public road, including national forest two-tracks, a license plate is also required.
To register your ATV, first decide on which permanent registration fee to pay. Off-highway costs $61.25, whereas street legal/off-highway combined costs $114.50.
You must be licensed to drive an ATV on public roads. Children 12 to 16 years old may operate an ATV on public roads, under adult supervision, as long as they have obtained a safety certificate.
For more information about operating ATVs and other off-highway vehicles in the state, visit the Montana State Parks website.
Trailers in Montana
Trailers require permanent registration in Montana. You must visit your county treasurer's office with the appropriate registration fee:
- If your trailer is less than 6,000 lbs., you'll pay $61.25.
- If your trailer is 6,000 lbs. or heavier, you'll pay $148.25.
To legally operate a travel trailer in Montana, you will need to permanently register it with the MVD. Simply bring the appropriate fee* to your MT county treasurer's office:
- Trailers under 16 feet long, the fee is $72.
- Trailers 16 feet long or longer, the fee is $152.
*You may also need to pay additional county fees. Contact your local County Treasurer for more information.
Motorhomes and Recreational Vehicles
If you have a recreational vehicle (RV) or motorhome, be sure to have it registered first before you take it for a drive. You'll need to visit your local MT DMV with payment for the registration fees.
NOTE: Your registration will be valid for 1 year at a time. If your RV is 11 years old or older, you have the option of registering it permanently.
The fee to register your motorhome or RV will be based on the age of your vehicle:
- Under 2 years old: $282.50.
- 2 to under 5 years old: $224.25.
- 5 toÂ under 8 years old: $132.50.
- 8 years old or older: $97.50.
- 11 years old or older (permanent registration): $237.50.
You may also need to pay the following additional fees:
- MT Highway Parol Salary and Retention fee: $5.
- New license plate fee: $10.
- Insurance verification fee (if using existing plates when permanently registering RV): $5.
If you have a custom-built vehicle, you will need to register it by bringing the following documents to your local MT DMV office:
- A completed Application for Certificate of Title for a Motor Vehicle (Form MV1).
- A completed Fact Sheet (Form MV121).
- Proof of a vehicle inspection.
- Proof you own all major components used in the building of your vehicle.
You will also need to pay any applicable fees.
For more information about registering a custom-built car in Montana, contact the MVD.
Moped and Scooter Registration
Mopeds, scooters, and other motor-driven cycles must be registered as motorcycles in Montana.
Vehicles must meet safety standards to be registered and operated on public roads. More details are available on our scooters and mopeds page.