Ticket Fines and Penalties in Mississippi
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Mississippi Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs
Traffic ticket fines vary by county in Mississippi. This means a ticket for failing to yield in Issaquena County won't cost the same for failing to yield in Chickasaw County. In addition, each county adds assessment fees (see below), which vary as well. The exact fine amount will not be listed on your ticket. You must call the court on your ticket for the fine total.
Assessments are added to all traffic violations. Assessment fees are used to fund county and state programs.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine.
- Option to plea bargain penalties.
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates.
Learn more about Paying your Traffic Ticket »
Car Insurance Rate Increases
Traffic ticket convictions usually coincide with increased car insurance rates. If you find your premiums are becoming too high for your budget, shop around online and compare car insurance rates from a variety of auto insurance providers.
MS Traffic Ticket Penalties
Mississippi does not employ a points system. Thus, loss of driving privileges―suspended or revoked― is the most common type of penalty. Several factors come into play when determining a penalty's severity, including driving record and license type (CDL, learner's permit, etc.).
MS Driver's License Suspension and Revocation
If the MS Department of Public Safety (DPS) takes away your driving privileges, it's good to know the difference between a suspended and a revoked license:
Suspended License―This means your MS driver's license has been temporarily removed. Reinstatement, in most cases, requires paying a $100 fee.
Revoked License― This means your Mississippi driver's license has been terminated for an extended period of time, usually for at least one year.
Driving offenses resulting in a suspended license include:
- You have been involved in an accident resulting in the death or injury of another person or resulting in significant property damage
- Frequent convictions of serious traffic violations
- You are deemed a habitually reckless or negligent driver.
Driving offenses resulting in a mandatory 1 year revocation for a first offense are:
- DUI conviction.
- Failing to stop and render aid following an accident causing injury or death.
- Being convicted of any felony in which a motor vehicle was used.
- Being convicted of manslaughter or negligent homicide resulting from an accident caused by you.
For a complete list of suspension- and revocation-causing violations, refer to Mississippi's Driver's License Manual.
Mississippi Teen Driver Penalties
In addition to the penalties listed above, you may also have your driving privileges suspended for violating any restrictions (driving without a licensed passenger, driving during curfew hours) associated with your learner's permit or intermediate driver's license.
Penalties for MS Commercial Drivers
You should report any traffic convictions to your employer immediately. This covers all vehicles, including being ticketed while driving your own car.
As a commercial driver, all traffic convictions come with possible job-jeopardizing penalties. With so much at stake it's good to know the rules in which you are governed by. The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) provides a complete list of driver disqualifications and penalties.