DUI Attorneys in Mississippi
Driving under the influence of alcohol/drugs (DUI) is a crime in Mississippi, so you might choose to hire an attorney to represent you. A DUI attorney can help in many ways, from going to court to advising you on the DUI penalties you're likely to face.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
Read below for information about the role of DUI attorneys in Mississippi.
You might decide to hire an attorney if you're charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Mississippi.
DUI attorneys may handle several types of cases, including driving while intoxicated (DWI) by alcohol or drugs, open container violations, and underage drinking and driving.
These tips can help you choose a lawyer to take your case:
- Ask people you know for recommendations.
- Look in your local area for an attorney familiar with Mississippi courts and police.
- Seek lawyers with DUI case experience.
- Consult with several lawyers to learn more about how they can help you.
- Ask about fees and payments before you hire your attorney.
A DUI lawyer can be a valuable asset before, during, and after a case. Read below to learn more about how they can help.
You may not be sure what a lawyer can do for you when you're charged with a DUI in Mississippi, since the evidence is usually difficult to dispute.
Even with a conviction, hiring a DUI lawyer can still be incredibly helpful because your attorney can:
- Appear or speak in court on your behalf.
- Offer plea, testimony, and other strategic advice.
- Submit required paperwork.
- Explain all charges, penalties, and other legal information.
NOTE: An attorney CANNOT guarantee a specific result for your case.
DUI lawyers understand how the court system works, and they often have working relationships with those involved in your case.
With their knowledge and experience, a DUI attorney can do much of the work for you, which can save you a lot of time, frustration, and confusion.
If you're convicted of a DUI in Mississippi, you'll face several penalties.
Some penalties are mandatory, like a driver's license suspension by the MS Department of Public Safety (DPS). Your license will be suspended for 90 days for your 1st offense. Subsequent offenses result in longer suspension periods. You will also pay $175 to have your license reinstated.
The MS traffic court will determine your other penalties. Your DUI lawyer can often work with the courts minimize your charges.
Penalties for a 1st offense can include:
- $250 to $1,000 in fines.
- 48 hours in jail.
Even if you face a conviction, a DUI attorney can work to get you the best possible outcome for you case.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!