Apply for a License (Drivers 18+) in Mississippi

SUMMARY: How to Apply for a Mississippi Driver's License

You must apply for a MS driver's license in person at a DPS office. You will need to pass the vision, written knowledge, and driving tests, and pay the required fee.

This page will give you all the information you need to apply for your first Mississippi driver's license from the Department of Public Safety (DPS).

NOTE: If you're 17 years old or younger, please see our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) page.

REAL ID Requirements in Mississippi

The Mississippi DPS complies with the REAL ID Act of 2005, meaning it provides first-time driver license applicants with REAL ID-compliant driver licenses. REAL ID driver’s licenses meet the federal identification requirements required for tasks such as entering federal buildings and boarding domestic commercial flights. Without a REAL ID, you'll need to bring your passport or birth certificate for such activities.

New applicants will automatically receive a REAL ID. (Options differ for renewals and replacements.) For more details, visit the DPS' guide to REAL ID licensing.

New to Mississippi?

Just Moved?

Find all the information you need to finish your moving requirements with the DMV.

If you've recently moved to Mississippi, you must transfer your out-of-state driver's license to the state within 60 days of arrival, and register your car within 30 days.

You will need to visit your local MS DPS office and:

  • A completed Driver's License Application Form (Form DL-41).
  • Surrender your out-of-state driver's license.
  • Provide your Social Security card.
  • 2 documents showing residency
  • Original birth certificate.
  • Pass a vision screening.
  • Pay the driver's licensing fee.

NOTE: A Mississippi DMV agent will verify your driving record before issuing your new driver's license.

As long as your license from another state is valid you may be exempt from the written test and driving test.

If you don't have your out-of-state driver's license, you can still obtain a MS driver's license by including an Affidavit of Inability to Surrender (available at the MS DPS office) with your application. You will need to have your signature notarized on the form.

Types of MS Driver's Licenses

The Mississippi DPS offers various types of driver's licenses:

  • Regular Class R: For operation of non-commercial vehicles.
  • Commercial driver's license (CDL): See our Applying for a New CDL page for more information.
  • Motorcycle endorsement: Designated on your regular driver's license or your CDL. See our Motorcycle License page for more information.

Apply for a MS Driver's License

To obtain a Mississippi driver's license, you will need to apply in person at your local Mississippi DPS office. You will need:

  • A completed Driver's License Application Form (Form DL-41).
    • If you're under 17 years old, your parent or legal guardian must sign your form.
  • Proof of your identity, residency, and Social Security number.
    • The DPS offers a guide to acceptable documents, which are automatically REAL ID-compliant.
    • Those under 21 years old may use their parent residency information.
  • A passing score on the vision screening.
  • Payment for the driver's licensing fee.

You will also have to pass both the written knowledge and road tests.

NOTE: If you're a non-U.S. citizen, you will need to provide additional documents. You may also be exempt from needing a Social Security card. See below for more information.

Written Knowledge and Driving Tests

Before your MS driver's license will be issued, you must pass both a written knowledge exam and a driving test.

The questions in the written knowledge exam will be based on information found in the MS Driver's License Manual. In addition, the DPS offers an app to help you study. If you want the ultimate in preparation for the written exam, try an online practice test from our approved partner.

During your driving test, your examiner will grade you on how well you can operate a motor vehicle. You will be tested on your ability to handle the vehicle, obey road rules, and use the proper signals, among other things.

Fees for a MS Driver's License

A Mississippi driver's license will cost you:

  • $24 for 4 years.
  • $47 for 8 years.

Payment must be made by cash, debit card, or credit card only. Checks will not accepted by the MS Department of Public Safety (DPS).

NOTE: Different license validity periods and fees apply for teen drivers. Please visit our teen licensing page for details.

Driver's Licenses for Non-U.S. Citizens

If you're a non-U.S. citizen, you must meet all of the standard requirements for obtaining a MS driver's license, with the exception of providing a Social Security card.

Your driver's license will only be valid for as long as you are legally allowed to stay in the U.S., or for the default length of 4 years.

Your application must include the following valid immigration papers:

  • Birth certificate translated by a state-run university or approved translator.
  • Passport.
  • I-94 printout.
  • Proof of domicile.
  • Alien resident card (if applicable).


17 and Older Regular Application
Application for a Mississippi driver's license if you're 17 years old or older.
DMV.ORG BBB Business Review