Traffic Tickets in Missouri
Stay Informed on Ticket History
Stay up to date on the traffic ticket history of anyone in the U.S.—search public court records for a low fee. Unlimited searches for 30 days—only $19.43.
"TruthFinder is a very accurate, updated system. Their information is proper and can be very helpful too." - Zak K.
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act. Please note that this is a subscription-based service.
Continue reading this page to learn more about what to do after receiving a Missouri traffic ticket.
MO Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties
Traffic ticket fines, surcharges, and court fees in Missouri vary by violation and county court. To find out exactly how much you must pay, refer to your MO traffic ticket or contact the traffic court in the county where you received your ticket.
For general information about fines and costs, visit the Missouri Courts website or call (877) 866-3926.
Driving Record Points
If you receive a traffic ticket, points may be added to your driving record.
The Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) will suspend your driver’s license if you accumulate too many points within a given amount of time. Here's how it works:
- If you accumulate 8 points or more within 18 months:
- 1st suspension: 30 days.
- 2nd suspension: 60 days.
- 3rd suspension (and subsequent suspensions): 90 days.
- The Missouri DOR will revoke your driving privileges for 1 year, if you accumulate:
- 12 points or more within 12 months.
- 18 points or more within 24 months.
- 24 points or more within 36 months.
Your traffic ticket will stay on your Missouri driving record for at least 3 years. If your violation led to a driver's license suspension or revocation, it will stay on your driving record for 5 years.
See our DMV Point System page for more information.
Auto Insurance Rate Increases
When points are added to your MO driving record, the rate you pay for car insurance rates will likely go up. To find out if you're getting the lowest available rate, compare car insurance rates online.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in Missouri
If you have a Fine Collection Center (FCC) traffic ticket, you can pay your traffic ticket fines:
- By phone.
- By mail.
- In person.
If you don't have an FCC traffic ticket, check your ticket or contact the county court handling your case for payment methods. For more information, please visit our page about Paying Traffic Tickets.
NOTE: Failure to respond to your ticket within 30 days after the ticket was issued could result in a driver's license suspension.
Fight a MO Traffic Ticket
If you don't have a FCC traffic ticket, contact the relevant Missouri court or check the ticket itself for instructions on fighting your charge.
To plead not guilty to a FCC ticket, you will need:
- A completed Not Guilty Plea form.
- Your traffic ticket (or a copy of your ticket).
Send the above to the Fine Collection Center:
- By fax to: (573) 522-8504.
- By mail to:
P.O. Box 104540
Jefferson City, MO 65110
You will receive notice of your court date by mail.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
Depending on your traffic ticket, you may be able to look it up using the FCC online system. You'll need to provide your name or citation number.
NOTE: You may need to wait a few days for the system to register your ticket.
If you can't find your traffic ticket information online, contact the traffic court in the county you received your ticket.
Remove a Ticket from Your Driving Record
You may be eligible to remove an old Missouri traffic ticket from your driving record if it is at least 3 years old (or 5 years old, IF it led to a driver's license suspension).
You'll need to provide your MO driver's license number or Social Security number (SSN) and submit a request to the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR):
- By e-mail: email@example.com.
- By phone: (573) 526-2407.
- By mail to:
301 West High Street - Room 470
P.O. Box 200
Jefferson City, MO 65105
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
If you have a commercial driver's license (CDL) in Missouri, you must notify your employer within 30 days of a conviction for a traffic violation. This rule applies even if you were driving your own personal vehicle.
You may lose your driving privileges for 1 year for more serious violations, such as:
- Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol test.
- Operating a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
- Operating a commercial motor vehicle while under the influence of a controlled substance.
- Driving a commercial vehicle with a suspended CDL.
- The use of a commercial motor vehicle in the commission of a felony.
- A fatality caused by the negligent use of a commercial motor vehicle.
- The use of a CMV in the commission of a felony
- Leaving the scene of an accident.
For more information visit our CDL Suspensions in Missouri page.
Missouri Traffic Ticket: FAQs
Still have questions? Visit our Missouri Traffic Ticket FAQ page to learn more about the following topics:
- MO driving records.
- The Missouri Fine Collection Center (FCC).
- Hiring a traffic ticket attorney.
- Dismissing a traffic ticket.