Ticket Fines and Penalties in Missouri
Find a Traffic Ticket Attorney
Fight your ticket and get the points on your license dismissed.
- Quick step-by-step process.
- Matched to Best Attorney.
- Free Service. No Hidden Charges. Confidential.
Missouri Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs
Fines vary across the state by county and municipality. For example, getting cited in St. Joseph for a prohibited turn won't cost the same as it would in Columbia. In addition, many counties and municipalities also may tack on additional fees.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine
- Option to plea bargain penalties
- Incur points on your driving record (could lead to license suspension/revocation)
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates
- Possible option to take Driver Improvement Program (DIP) to reduce points
Learn more about
Paying your Traffic Ticket »
Auto Insurance Rate Increase
In addition to the traffic ticket fine, you may also experience a jolt in your auto insurance rates. You, of course, always have the option to counter any rate increases in your car insurance coverage by shopping for a new provider. You can compare rates from a number of major auto insurance companies from a our Car Insurance Center page.
MO Traffic Ticket Penalties
Should you lose your driving privileges, it's good to know the repercussions:
Suspended License― The temporary loss of your MO driver's license. Reinstatement requirements are dependent on the reason behind the suspension.
Revoked License―The termination of your Missouri driver's license. Once the revocation period has ended, you must reapply for a new driver's license. This requires retaking the knowledge and skill tests.
Your driver's license may be revoked or suspended for:
- Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
- Refusing an alcohol or drug test
- Failing to file an accident report
- Providing false information when applying for a driver's license
- Fleeing the scene of an accident
- Failing to carry car insurance
Consult Missouri's Driver Guide for a complete list of infractions with loss of license penalties.
Missouri Points System
Missouri assigns points to every traffic violation. The number of points depends on the infraction. The more serious the offense, the higher the number of points.
If you accumulate 8 points or more in 18 months your license will be suspended for:
- 30 days (1st suspension)
- 60 days (2nd suspension)
- 90 days (subsequent suspension)
Your MO driver's license will be revoked for one year if:
- You accumulate 12 points or more in 12 months
- You accumulate 18 points or more in 18 months
- You accumulate 24 points or more in 24 months
Check Your MO Driving Record
Always check your driving record after a ticket violation. Verify that all points are accurate so you have a clear assessment of where you stand. If, for example, you notice you're within one or two points of a suspension, you may inquire about enrolling into a Driver Improvement Program (DIP) with the intent of trimming your total points.
Drivers Younger Than 18 Years Old
In addition to the infractions described above, you may lose your driving privileges for violating any of the restrictions associated with an instruction permit or intermediate license.
Penalties for Missouri CDL Drivers
You must notify your employer within 30 days of receiving a traffic violation. This applies to all scenarios, regardless of vehicle or state. So if, for example, you were ticketed for speeding in Vermont while driving your own car, you'd still need to alert your employer.
Penalties for CDL drivers are steep. Not only can they affect your wallet, but also affect your career. For your convenience, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) offers a detailed list of traffic violations and penalties.