Suspended License in Missouri
Searching the Missouri DOR for matching Driving Records
Instant Driving Record - Exclusively Online!
Instant Motor Vehicle Report Includes:
- Driving Status
- License Classification
NOTICE: This is standard non-certified driving record. For a certified record, you must contact DOR
Get your personal driver's license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.
Driver License Suspension in Missouri
If the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) suspended your driver’s license, you’ll need to satisfy your suspension requirements to reinstate it.
Your driver’s license may be suspended for reasons including:
- Accumulating too many driving record points.
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol.
- Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- Speeding and reckless driving.
On this page you’ll find information about your suspension and how to reinstate your license.
The duration of your MO driver’s license suspension will vary depending on your offense.
NOTE: If you were convicted of a crime, you may also face additional court requirements and fines.
When your driver’s license is suspended, the Missouri DMV will mail you a suspension notice, which includes information about your offense and how to reinstate your license.
If you accumulate 8 points on your driving record within 18 months, your license will be suspended for:
- 30 days: 1st suspension.
- 60 days: 2nd suspension.
- 90 days: 3rd suspension.
Your driver’s license may be suspended for 1 year or more for violations including:
- Speeding and reckless/careless driving.
- Violating insurance laws and failing to maintain minimum financial liability.
- DUI offenses and refusing to submit to a BAC test.
Check Your Driver License Status
You can find information about your suspension by ordering your driving record at any MO DMV office or by calling (573) 526-2407.
Your driving record will contain information about your offense/suspension, the dates your violations occurred, and any points added to your driving record.
If you want to contest your driver’s license suspension, you can request a Missouri DOR administrative hearing.
You must request a hearing within 15 days of receiving your suspension notice for alcohol-related suspensions.
Mail your hearing request to:
Administrative Hearing Section
301 West High Street - Room 470
PO Box 3500
Jefferson City MO 65105
For more information, please contact the Missouri DMV:
- Phone: (573) 526-2407.
- E-mail: email@example.com.
NOTE: MO DOR administrative hearings have no effect on court decisions. To appeal suspensions caused by court convictions, contact the court that served your suspension within 30 days.
Whether your license has been suspended for points, major traffic violations, or DUI, an experienced attorney can help you get back on the right track. Find an attorney near you today.
Your reinstatement requirements for your Missouri suspended driver’s license will vary depending on your offense.
To reinstate your license, you may need to do any or all of the following:
- Retake and pass the driving skills and knowledge tests.
- File an SR22 insurance form and maintain coverage for 3 years after your suspension ends.
- Complete a Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program (SATOP), if applicable.
- Install an ignition interlock device, if you have been convicted of multiple alcohol-related offenses.
- Pay your reinstatement fees. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your Missouri License” below.)
You can submit your documents and payment:
- In person to:
Driver License Bureau
Truman State Office Building
301 West High Street, Room 470
Jefferson City, Missouri
- By mail to:
Driver License Bureau
PO Box 200
Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0200
NOTE: You can pay your reinstatement fees by calling the Missouri DMV at (573) 526-2407.
Depending on the circumstances of your suspension, you may be eligible for a limited driving privilege (LDP) that allows you to drive to and from authorized locations including work and school.
To apply for a restricted driver’s license:
- Complete an Application for Limited Driving Privilege (Form 4595).
- File an SR22 insurance form, if necessary.
- Install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, if necessary.
- Mail your completed form to the address specified on the form.
The MO DOR will review your application within 5 business days and mail the decision to you.
NOTE: You can also apply for a restricted driver’s license through your local court. Contact the court for more information.
Below are general reinstatement fees collected by the Missouri DMV for your suspended Missouri driver license. Your fees may vary depending on your circumstances.
- $20, for violations including:
- Moving violations (not alcohol related).
- Accident judgments.
- Failure to file an accident report.
- Failure to appear.
- Failure to maintain an ignition interlock device.
- $45, for violations including:
- Alcohol-related offenses.
- Refusing to submit to a BAC test.
- Fuel theft.
- Reinstatement fees relating to insurance violations include:
- $20 to $400 for failing to maintain minimum car insurance, depending on the number of offenses you’ve had.
- $150 for giving false insurance information.
Acceptable Forms of Payment
The Missouri DOR accepts the following forms of payment for driver's license reinstatements:
- In person:
- Money order.
- American Express.
- By mail: Check or money order payable to “Missouri Department of Revenue.”
- By phone: VISA, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express credit/debit cards.
NOTE: Credit/debit card transactions carry a convenience fee.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.