Green Vehicle Laws and Regulations in Missouri
Missouri has a few driving-related laws specific to protecting the environment. Keep reading for more on emissions testing, state motor fuel tax, insurance requirements, and more—whether you drive an electric car, hybrid, or some other alternative fuel vehicle.
Green vehicle laws and eco-friendly incentives are subject to change. Refer back to this page and also consult your local MO Division of Motor Vehicles (DOR) office and the Alternative Fuels Data Center for the latest.
Missouri Vehicle Emissions Tests
Missouri requires certain vehicles to pass an emissions test to maintain valid MO vehicle registration. For starters, vehicles registered to residents in the following areas must undergo emissions testing*:
- St. Louis City.
- St. Louis County.
- Franklin County.
- Jefferson County.
- St. Charles County.
*Exceptions to this requirement include a slew of eco-friendly vehicles. Missouri exempts the following from emissions tests:
- Low-speed, gas-powered vehicles.
- Plug-in electric vehicles.
- Vehicles that run solely on solar, electric, or hydrogen power.
- Vehicles that run on fuels other than gasoline, diesel, or ethanol.
For more on emissions test exemptions for eco-friendly vehicles and other money-saving perks, check out our page on green driver incentives.
Even if your vehicle is exempt from an emissions test, it likely requires an inspection. For more on this, refer to our page in Missouri vehicle inspections.
Low-Speed Vehicle Regulations
To drive a low-speed vehicle, you must have a valid driver’s license and maintain financial responsibility (in most cases, these means having adequate auto insurance coverage). Additionally, your vehicle must be manufactured in compliance with the safety standards detailed in the Code of Federal Regulations (Title 49, Section 571.500).
Missouri prohibits drivers from operating low-speed vehicles on MO streets and highways that have a posted speed limit greater than 35 miles per hour—except when crossing such a road. Plus, local governments may restrict access to any highways they feel low-speed vehicles threaten public safety. For more on these regulations, consult the Missouri Revised Statutes (Chapter 304, Section 304.029).
Missouri Special Fuel Decals
If your passenger vehicle, commercial motor vehicle, or bus runs on any the following special fuels, you must buy a special fuel decal each year:
- Liquid petroleum gas (LPG).
- Natural gas.
Missouri exempts from special fuels decals vehicles with historic registration and hybrids that run on gasoline and electricity.
Annual Decal Fees and Deadlines
The annual decal fee varies by how Missouri classifies your vehicle for registration purposes. Special fuel decals are valid from January 1 to December 31, but you must buy it by January 31. Look for your renewal notice in the mail in December; the MO Department of Revenue mails these out during the first week of December.
Temporary Alternative Fuel Decals
If your vehicle does not bear Missouri registration, you must buy a temporary alternative fuel decal from a retail dealer. Otherwise, you won't be able to buy natural or liquid petroleum gas. A temporary decal:
- Costs $8.
- Is valid for 15 days from the issue date.
- Is nontransferable.
Be sure to affix the temporary decal to lower right-hand corner of your front windshield.
Missouri Auto Insurance Requirements
Your fuel-efficient vehicle must meet the same MO auto insurance requirements as all other vehicles in the state; however, depending on your provider, you might get a discount on your premium for operating an eco-friendly vehicle or practicing green driving habits. Check out our section on green driver incentives for more.