DUI Attorneys in Missouri
If you're arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs—also called driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence of drugs (DUID)—you may want to consider hiring a DUI attorney. A lawyer will be able to advise you on all procedures and DUI penalties.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
Continue reading this page for more information about DUI attorneys in Missouri.
As you search for a DUI lawyer in Missouri, consider the following tips to help you find the right one:
- Get referred. Ask your friends or family if they know of a reputable DUI attorney.
- Find an experienced DUI lawyer. You'll benefit from hiring someone who has expertise with DUI/DWI cases.
- Stay local. It's best to hire a lawyer who is familiar with the local courts and law enforcement.
- Meet with several lawyers. Since consultations are typically free, make the time to schedule appointments with multiple DUI attorneys.
- Ask about your attorney's fees. Prior to committing to a DUI attorney, ask for a complete breakdown of your fees and payment deadlines.
Charges Handled by DUI Attorneys
DUI charges are very serious. If you were charged with a DUI in Missouri, your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was likely in the following range while you were driving:
- 0.08% or higher.
- 0.04% or higher (if you were driving a commercial motor vehicle).
- 0.02% or higher (if you are a minor).
A DUI attorney with experience in similar cases may be able to minimize your penalties and save you money in the long term.
NOTE: In some cases, you may still be convicted of a DWI even if you tested under the legal limit.
The court process for a DUI charge can be extremely stressful, which is why many people seek legal representation. A Missouri DUI attorney can help by:
- Representing you in court or appear on your behalf if you're unable to attend.
- Determine how you should plead.
- Handle all mandatory court paperwork.
- Let you know what to expect during and after your court hearing.
NOTE: Your DUI attorney cannot guarantee a favorable verdict, but he or she can certainly prepare you for any possible outcomes.
Both the court and Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) will administer penalties based on your age, driving history, and the nature of your DUI charge. Depending on your circumstances, your DUI conviction could result in the following:
- A suspension or revocation of your MO driver's license:
- 1st conviction: Suspension for 90 days.
- 2nd conviction: Revocation for 1 year.
- 3rd conviction: Cancellation for 10 years.
- BAC test refusal: Suspension for 1 year.
- Substantial fines.
- Jail time.
- An alcohol treatment/addiction evaluation program.
- An ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.
If you are convicted in a criminal court your Department of Revenue penalties can increase. For more information about specific penalties after being convicted of a DUI, please read our DUI & DWI in Missouri page.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!