Ticket Fines and Penalties in Minnesota
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Minnesota Traffic Ticket Fines and Costs
Traffic fines vary by county in Minnesota. This is because each county imposes different surcharge and law library fee amounts. In addition, there are also varying court fees that come into play if you decide to challenge your traffic ticket.
(Plead Guilty or No Contest)
- Pay the fine.
- Option to plea bargain penalties.
- Possibly have license suspended.
- Possibly incur increase on auto insurance rates.
Learn more about Paying Your Traffic Ticket »
(Plead Not Guilty)
- Contest traffic ticket via trial.
- Choose to represent yourself or hire an attorney.
- Negotiate a settlement before appearing in court.
- No penalties or fines if found not guilty, but must pay court/attorney fees.
- Court finds you guilt, must pay fines, court/attorney fees and incur penalties.
Learn more about Fighting Your Traffic Ticket »
Auto Insurance Rate Increase
Depending on the policies of your car insurance provider, your premiums may increase following a traffic conviction. Should this occur, you always have the option to shop around for a new provider. Comparing rates online from a variety of different car insurance companies is fast and easy and can be done from the convenience of home.
Minnesota Traffic Ticket Penalties
Minnesota is one of the few states that does not employ a point system. Penalties generally come in the form of lost driving privileges, meaning your MN driver's license has been suspended or revoked.
For the sake of clarity, these terms are defined as:
Suspended License―The temporary loss of driving privileges.
Revoked License―The termination of your MN driver's license.
MN Driver's License Suspension
Some of the more common reasons for license suspension include:
- Repeatedly violating traffic laws.
- Being convicted in court of a traffic violation that caused death.
- Committing a traffic offense in another state that would be grounds for a suspension in Minnesota.
- Missing a mandatory court appearance for a traffic violation.
- Being convicted of a misdemeanor resulting from a traffic violation.
Consult Minnesota's Driver's Manual for a full list of suspension reasons, many of which include non-driving infractions.
Minnesota Driver's License Revocation
Some of the more common reasons for license revocation include:
- Driving in excess of 100 mph.
- Committing a traffic offense in another state that would be grounds for a revocation in Minnesota.
- Knowingly driving your vehicle without no-fault car insurance.
Read Minnesota's Driver's Manual for a full list of revocation reasons.
MN Limited License
You may be granted limited driving privileges after your MN driver's license has been suspended or revoked. Depending on your situation, you will be restricted to:
- Driving to and from work.
- Driving to and from chemical dependency treatment or counseling.
- Driving dependents living in your household for medical, education or nutritional needs.
- Driving to and from school.
Check Your Driving Record
The state will suspend your driver's license if you accrue too many traffic violations on your record. If you're unsure of where you stand on traffic violations, check your driving record. It will provide a detailed list of past violations. Possessing this knowledge may change your driving habits and spare you from a suspended license.
Penalties for Drivers Younger Than 18 Years Old
The state imposes strict repercussions on young drivers. Your Minnesota provisional driver's license will be revoked if you're convicted of an impaired driving offense or a crash-related violation. You will lose all driving privileges until you turn 18 years old.
Penalties for MN Commercial Drivers
You are bound by law to notify your employer within 30 days of a traffic violation. This applies to all vehicles, including your own car or motorcycle.
As a commercial driver you are under tight scrutiny. Traffic violations come with stiff penalties with longterm consequences. The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration provides a complete list of violations that could cause your commercial driving privileges to be terminated.