Suspended License in Minnesota
Searching the Minnesota DVS for matching Driving Records
Instant Driving Record - Exclusively Online!
Instant Motor Vehicle Report Includes:
- Driving Status
- License Classification
NOTICE: This is standard non-certified driving record. For a certified record, you must contact DVS
Get your personal driver's license history instantly and online. Find out what information is on your driving record with a BackgroundChecks.com Instant Motor Vehicle Report. Keep in mind, you can only run an instant motor vehicle report on yourself.
Driver License Suspension in Minnesota
Minnesota’s Department of Public Safety (DPS) and Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) departments will suspend, revoke, or cancel your license for a variety of violations, including infractions such as failure to maintain the required car insurance minimums to more serious crimes like vehicular homicide.
Minnesota does not use a DMV point system; however, the MN DVS can issue driver license suspension—the temporary removal of your driving privileges—for the following infractions and time periods:
Failure to Maintain Insurance
You’ll have a suspended license from 30 days to 1 year, depending on the number of offenses committed within 5 years.
Misuse of License
You’ll have a suspended license for:
- 90 days, if you have no other convictions within 5 years.
- 180 days, if you have at least 2 convictions within 5 years.
You’ll have a suspended license from 30 days to 1 year, depending on:
- How many driver license violations you’ve had within 24 months.
- How many limited driving violations you’ve had within 5 years.
- Whether it’s a license, permit, or endorsement violation.
- Whether you were driving after a license withdrawal.
Violation Resulting in Fatality or Personal Injury
You’ll have a suspended license for:
- 90 days, if personal injury occurs.
- 180 days, if death occurs.
Criminal Vehicular Homicide and Injury; Manslaughter; Fleeing from Peace Officer
You’ll have a suspended license for 1 year.
Failure to Pay Child Support
Your MN driver’s license can be suspended for failure to pay child support; however, you may be able to obtain a limited license for 90 days in the case of suspension. For more information, see “Limited Licenses” below.
Check Your Driver License Status
Although the MN DVS sets specific time periods for license suspension, revocation, and cancellation, it’s a good idea to periodically check your driver license status and make sure all information is up to date. This includes information about traffic tickets and all other traffic violations, too.
After all, your driving history can affect factors like:
- Car insurance quotes.
- Employment opportunities.
- Background checks.
Visit our Driving Records section to learn more about your driving history.
A revoked license is slightly different from a suspended license. A revoked license means your driving privileges are rescinded for longer periods of time, and generally for more serious violations.
You’ll have a revoked license for 30 days to 1 year for failure to provide proof of insurance or maintain insurance, depending on the offense number within 5 years.
Misdemeanor/Gross Misdemeanor Offenses
You’ll have your license revoked for:
- 30 days, for 3 offenses within 12 months.
- 90 days, for 4 offenses within 12 months.
- 1 year, for 5 or more offenses within 12 months.
NOTE: Remember, these are misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor offenses.
Perjury/False Affidavit or Statement
Your license is revoked for 180 days.
Leaving Accident Scene
You’ll have a revoked license for:
- 180 days, if personal injury occurs.
- 1 year, if death occurs.
Felony With a Motor Vehicle
Committing a felony with a motor vehicle leads to license revocation for 1 year.
Fleeing a Peace Officer
Conviction leads to a revoked license for 1 year to 10 years, depending on the number of your offense and the nature of the violation.
Vehicular Homicide or Injury/Manslaughter
Conviction leads to license revocation for 1 year to 15 years, depending on the nature of the violation.
In some cases, a driver may not legally possess the right to have a license. The MN DVS can cancel your license if:
- You were never eligible for a driver’s license.
- You falsified or gave incorrect information, or otherwise committed fraud or deception when applying for your driver’s license.
- You have a disability that makes you ineligible for a driver’s license OR you failed to provide required documentation related to that disability.
You will be required to OR have the option to attend a preliminary or administrative hearing. Your notice of suspension will describe your steps for reinstatement (see below), including information regarding hearings.
Because these hearings will determine whether your license will be suspended, revoked, or cancelled—sometimes for long periods of time—you might consider consulting an attorney.
When you’re eligible for reinstating your suspended Minnesota driver license, the MN DVS will send you a letter with exact license reinstatement instructions.
Some cases—such as those involving auto insurance matters—have very specific requirements; most other cases simply require that:
- The suspension or revocation period has expired.
- There are no other suspensions, revocations, or cancellations against the license.
- You’ve met all conditions for reinstatement (e.g., completed driver improvement, if required, or met medical requirements).
- You’ve paid your reinstatement fees (see “Fees” below).
- You’ve received your notice of reinstatement from the commissioner.
Again, the MN DVS sends letters with exact instructions specific to your case. Keep in mind that you may have to fill out certain forms; for example, you might need to fill out the Request for Administrative Review (form PS31122) if you want your case to be reviewed by the Commissioner of Public Safety.
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) suspensions carry their own sets of penalties. For example, you face criminal penalties like jail time as well as administrative sanctions like license suspension.
License suspension for DWI can vary from 90 days to outright license cancellation, depending on the offense number and nature of the violation—which could even lead to Felony DWI.
For more specific information about DWI penalties, check out our DUI in Minnesota page.
Some drivers are eligible for limited driving privileges.
Your MN DVS commissioner will let you know whether you’re eligible; generally, drivers who meet the following criteria are eligible for a limited license:
- You’ve officially requested a limited driver license.
- You need the license to meet the requirements of your license reinstatement, such as:
- Ignition Interlock Device (IID) requirements.
- Substance abuse counseling or treatment.
- You’ve paid your reinstatement fee (see “Fees” below).
- You’re license isn’t suspended or revoked for criminal vehicular homicide, manslaughter, or fleeing a peace officer.
- You are not applying for a limited Class A, B, or C commercial driver license (CDL).
- If you’ve already had a limited driver license in the last 24 months, ½ of your current suspension or revocation period must complete.
- You need the limited driver license for reasons such as homemaker educational, medical, and nutritional needs.
- These include needs for those younger than 18 years old and other dependents in the house.
- The MN DVS will inform you of your time limits.
- You’re an out-of-state driver with a valid out-of-state license and can present certified copies of driver records from all previous states in which you’ve held licenses.
If your license is revoked, you must also:
- Apply for a new MN driver’s license.
- Pay the license fee.
- Pass all required tests.
For more information on limited driver license eligibility and application, contact the DVS:
- Telephone: (651) 297-3298.
- TTYL: (651) 282-6555.
In addition to the $1 DVS technology upgrades fee, reinstatement fees for suspended MN driver's licenses are as follows:
- Revoked license (alcohol/drugs/criminal vehicular operation ): $680.
- Revoked license (other offenses, including no-fault insurance revocation): $30.
- Suspended license: $20.
- CDL disqualification: $20.
NOTE: The fees above do not include the cost of applying for a new license.
Don’t see your specific fee? Contact the DVS:
- Telephone:(651) 297-3298.
- TTYL: (651) 282-6555.
If you’re unable to pay your full fee at one time, you may be eligible to pay through a payment plan under the MN Driver Diversion Pilot Program (DDP). To find out if you’re eligible, contact Diversion Solutions:
- By phone at (866) 518-2597.
- Online at the Diversion Solutions website.
- By mail at:
Driving Diversion Program
P.O. Box 19
Red Wing, MN 55066
The MN DVS can disqualify your Minnesota CDL for the following reasons:
- Leaving an accident scene.
- Committing a felony with a commercial vehicle.
- Acquiring out-of-state convictions.
- Manufacture, sale, or distribution of controlled substance conviction.
- Committing a serious traffic violation.
- Grade crossing violations.
- Out-of-service order violations.
- Hazardous materials and passenger out-of-service order violations.
If you’ve committed any of the above offenses, you’ll receive a notice of proposed disqualification or disqualification, and if you’re not a MN resident, your home state will receive notice, too.
Commercial driver's license reinstatement in Minnesota is straightforward:
- Your disqualification period must be complete.
- You must pay your reinstatement fee.
- You must complete any other reinstatement requirements.
- You must return your Class D license to the DVS.
- You must receive your reinstatement notice from the commissioner.
For additional and more detailed federal CDL disqualification information, visit our Minnesota CDL section.
That's great! We would love to hear about your experience...
We are sorry you didn't find the information you were looking for. Please visit our Visitor Support page for answer to frequently asked questions, or to contact us directly.
Thank you for submitting your feedback!
heroes have registered as organ donors.