Renewing Your License in Minnesota
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Renew Your Driver's License in Minnesota
Renewing your Minnesota driver's license on time is necessary if you'd like to continue driving legally in the state.
This page gives you information on how to renew your regular driver's license in MN.
- If you need to renew your commercial driver's license, visit our Renewing Your CDL in Minnesota page.
- If you need to renew your MN ID card, visit our Identification Cards in Minnesota page.
You must also carry adequate car insurance, including no-fault insurance in Minnesota. Visit our Insurance Center to get a car insurance policy that meets MN requirements, and start paying a lower auto insurance rate.
You can check the renewal status of your license by contacting the MN DVS.
License Renewal Requirements in MN
The Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) department will mail you a renewal notice for your MN driver's license before it expires. You will still be able to legally drive as long as you renew on or before the expiration date.
Your regular Class D Minnesota driver's licenses will expire every 4 years on your birthday. If you're under 21 years old, it will expire on your 21st birthday.
Your Minnesota provisional license will expire 2 years from date of your application, not on your birthday.
NOTE: If you're turning 21 years old, you should NOT renew your license until 3 weeks prior to your 21st birthday.
There are different requirements for renewal based on whether your MN driver license is currently:
- Suspended, revoked, or cancelled.
- Lost, stolen, or damaged.
Valid Driver's License
You may check the status of your MN driver's license by using the MN DVS Driver License Status Check. There is NO fee for this service.
To find out exactly what is on your M driving record, visit our page about Minnesota driving records.
Expired Driver's License
Do NOT drive on an expired MN driver's license.
If you let your Minnesota driver's license expire, the MN DVS may charge you penalty fees and/or require you to retake a written or road skills test.
Canceled, Revoked, or Suspended Driver's License
If you have a canceled, revoked, or suspended MN driver license, the MN DVS will send you a letter explaining the reason why.
If you qualify, the MN DVS offers financial assistance with fines and driver license reinstatements.
For specific details about your situation, please contact the MN DVS office directly.
Did you know you could lower your insurance rates if you take a defensive driving course?
Lost, Stolen, or Damaged Driver's License
If your MN driver's license is due for renewal, but it has been lost, stolen or damaged, you will need to provide alternative proof of your identification when you renew in person (see the “ How to Renew Your MN Driver's License" section below).
Do not drive without a valid driver's license in Minnesota. To replace your lost, stolen, or damaged MN driver's license, visit our Replacing a Lost License in Minnesota page.
Renewing Your MN Driver's License
You must renew your MN driver license in person at your local Minnesota DMV office. You cannot renew online, by mail, or by phone.
When you visit your local MN DMV office to renew your MN driver's license, you must:
- Bring your MN driver's license. If you do NOT have your driver license, you'll need to provide 1 primary document and 1 secondary document from the MN DVS list of acceptable documents, such as your:
- Birth certificate.
- Social Security card.
- Complete the Minnesota driver's license renewal application (available at the MN DMV office).
- Take a vision-screening test.
- Have your picture taken.
- Provide your Social Security number (SSN).
- If you do not have one, check the appropriate box on the renewal application.
- Have your parent or guardian sign the renewal application, if you're under 18 years old.
- Pay the renewal fee. See the “Fees to Renew Your MN Driver's License" section below.
The MN DVS will issue your renewed Minnesota driver's license before you leave.
NOTE: You do NOT need to bring your renewal notice.
Organ Donation in Minnesota
If you would like to register in MN to become an organ donor, there is a section on the MN driver's license renewal application where you can elect to participate in the organ donation program.
For more information, visit our page about Organ Donation in Minnesota.
Minnesota Voter Registration
If you aren't already registered to vote in Minnesota, you can register to vote while renewing your MN driver's license. Just tick the appropriate box on the renewal application form.
NOTE: You can register to vote, online or by mail, no less than 21 days before an election.
For additional information on how to register to vote, visit our Voter Registration in Minnesota page.
Military and Out-of-State License Renewal
Military Member Renewals
Notice for Military Members Stationed in Germany
If you are currently stationed in Germany, please be aware that some states require you to have a valid U.S. driver's license in addition to your USAREUR license. Read our article for more information.
If you're stationed outside of Minnesota on active military duty, the MN DVS does not require you to renew your MN driver's license until 1 year after you're discharged. The same rule applies to your spouse as long as he or she is outside of Minnesota with you while you're on active duty.
You must notify the MN DVS of your active military status by sending a written statement and either a copy of your military ID (displaying your entry date) or a letter from your commanding officer confirming your information to:
445 Minnesota St
St Paul, MN 55101
To renew your MN driver's license while out of state, you will need:
- A completed MN DVS out-of-state packet.
- You may request one by e-mailing DVS.email@example.com OR by calling (651) 297-3298.
- A completed Minnesota Vision Report (Form PS30338).
- Must be completed by you and a licensed vision examiner.
- Payment for the renewal fee (see “Fees to Renew Your MN Driver's License" below).
Mail the above to the address listed on the out-of-state packet. You will receive your new MN driver's license within 6 weeks.
If you'd like your application expedited, enclose a separate check for the additional $20 fee with your application. The MN DVS cannot express mail your MN driver's license to a:
- P.O. Box.
- APO military address.
- Foreign country address.
NOTE: If you have a motorcycle endorsement on your MN driver's license, you must keep your MN driver's license current and provide documents showing you completed an equivalent driving knowledge and skills test in a different state.
Fees to Renew Your MN Driver's License
It will cost you the following fees to renew your driver's license in Minnesota:
- Regular Class D: $25.25.
- Under 21 years old Class D: $25.25.
- Upgrade of a MN provisional driver's license: $21.75.
- You will get a $3.50 discount if there are no violations on your record.
- Motorcycle endorsement (2-wheel): $13.
Minnesota Fast Track Service
To expedite your MN driver's license renewal application, you must pay an additional $20 fee. If you opt to use the fast track service, your transaction will process within 3 business days and you'll receive your MN driver's license by mail within 10 business days.
Accepted Payment Methods
At the MN DVS Central Office, payment must be made by personal check only. No other payment methods are accepted.
At most MN DVS offices, you can pay with:
- Personal check.
- Money order.
For mailed-in applications, payment must be made by check or money order.
Contact your Minnesota driver license DMV office to find out exactly which payment methods are accepted when renewing your MN driver's license.
Vision Report - PS30338
The DVS requires you to submit this vision exam if you have inadequate eyesight and wish to apply for a Minnesota driver's license.