Drivers Ed in Minnesota
Online Driver's Ed for
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Approved by the DVS
- 100% online – save time and money
- Available 24/7 – study when you want
- Easy to understand, easier to pass
Driver's Education in Minnesota
A driver's education course teaches the principles of road awareness and safety for prospective first-time drivers.
In Minnesota, if you're under 18 years old, the Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) requires you to complete Driver's Ed as part of the graduated driver's licensing (GDL) law.
On this page, you'll find information on what your Driver's Ed course consists of, where to complete your course, and the next steps you need to take to get your MN driver's license.
MN Driver's Ed Eligibility Requirements
Before you can apply for your MN learner's permit, you must:
- You must be15 years old
- Have completed the classroom component of a MN Driver's Ed course.
- Be enrolled in the behind-the-wheel instruction component.
You must be enrolled in your behind-the-wheel driving component of the course before you can apply for your instruction permit; however, you cannot begin this segment until you obtain your permit.
About Your Minnesota Driver's Ed Course
Your Minnesota driver's education course will cover topics including:
- Minnesota road signs and what they mean.
- How to be a safe and responsible driver.
- How to safely operate a motor vehicle.
- MN traffic laws.
- Driving in emergency situations, through constructions zones, and over railroad crossings.
Classroom and Behind-the-Wheel Hours
A Minnesota Driver's Ed course consists of:
- 30 hours of classroom instruction.
- 6 hours of behind-the-wheel driving training.
The classroom instruction must be completed before you get your MN learner's permit. The behind-the-wheel training cannot be taken until you obtain your learner's permit.
Types of Driver's Ed Courses
In Minnesota, you can take driver's education at:
NOTE: The MN DPS currently does not accept online Driver's Ed.
Home School Driver's Ed
If you are home-schooled, the Minnesota DPS allows your parent to teach you the classroom segment of teen driver's education. You must use classroom materials approved by the MN DPS.
Once you complete your 30 hours of home school driver's education, your parent must submit a completed Home School Driver's Education Affidavit (Form PS33135) to the Office of Driver Education by fax to (651) 296-5316 or by mail to:
Driver and Vehicle Services
445 Minnesota St, Suite 176
St Paul, MN 55101
Once the office receives your affidavit, you'll be sent a Certificate of Completion, or “blue card", which you'll need to show the MN DPS when you apply for your instruction permit and take your written test.
An ideal compliment to your Driver's Ed course is to prepare for the written exam with a Minnesota online practice test. Don't waste time standing in long lines at the DPS. Study with a Minnesota online practice test and pass your written exam on your first try.
MN Parent Awareness Class
Driver's education providers also offer a parent awareness class. If your parent or guardian takes this class then your practice driving hours are reduced from 50 hours to 40 hours. The class is 90 minutes long.
After Driver's Ed – What's Next?
After completing the classroom component of your MN driver's education course, you can apply for your instruction permit. You must:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Be enrolled in the behind-the-wheel component of a Driver's Ed course.
- Pass a vision test.
- Pass a written knowledge test.
For more information on how to apply for your Minnesota learner's permit, including required documents and fees, visit our Drivers Permits in Minnesota page.
Once you've obtained your instruction permit, you can begin your behind-the-wheel component of your Driver's Ed.
You can apply for your MN provisional driver's license once you:
- Complete the behind-the-wheel training of your Minnesota Driver's Ed course.
- Turn 16 years old.
- Have held your learner's permit for at least 6 months (conviction-free).
- Pass your road test.
To learn how to apply for your MN driver's license, see our Applying for a New License (Teen Drivers) in Minnesota page.
Home School Driver’s Education Affidavit - PS33135
Use this DVS form to verify your child is being homeschooled AND receiving the proper in-class driver's education as part of their requirements for a Minnesota driver's license.