Traffic Tickets in Michigan
Disclaimer: TruthFinder cannot be used for employment or tenant screening. TruthFinder is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Report Act.
Continue reading this page for information about traffic tickets in Michigan.
MI Traffic Ticket Fines and Penalties
Traffic ticket fines and surcharges in Michigan vary by violation and district. To find out the exact amount you must pay, refer to your MI traffic ticket or contact the traffic court in the county where you received your ticket.
Driving Record Points
Each traffic violation in Michigan adds a specific number of points to your driving record. Points stay on your driving record for 2 years and the MI traffic ticket will remain on your record for at least 7 years.
Some common violations that result in 2 points added to your driving record include:
- Having an open alcohol container in your car.
- Driving 10 mph or less above the posted speed limit.
- Refusing a preliminary breath test (PBT), if younger than 21 years old.
More severe violations can carry up to 6 points. For more details, visit our DMV Point System page.
NOTE: Points on your driving record can lead to increased car insurance premiums. Compare quotes online to make sure you're getting the best rate possible.
Basic Driver Improvement Course
In some cases, the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS) may allow you to complete a Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC) to prevent:
- Points added driving record.
- Insurance companies from seeing your traffic ticket information.
You must successfully complete the course within 60 days.
For more information, visit our Defensive Driving in Michigan page.
Pay a Traffic Ticket in Michigan
The instructions to pay your civil traffic ticket in Michigan may vary by district court. Check your ticket or contact the appropriate Michigan traffic court to find out how to proceed.
You may be able to pay your MI traffic ticket fines:
- By mail.
- By phone.
- In person.
You must submit your payment in full before the due date on your ticket, or the MI SOS will suspend your driver's license. No partial payments are accepted.
Fight a MI Traffic Ticket
To fight your traffic violation in Michigan, you will need to request a court hearing so you can plead “not guilty." Check your traffic ticket for instructions.
NOTE: Failure to respond to your traffic ticket in time will result in a “guilty" plea and a suspended driver's license.
Hire a Traffic Ticket Attorney
You may want to consider hiring a traffic ticket attorney to represent you in court and help your case.
Lost Your Traffic Ticket?
If you've lost your MI traffic ticket, contact the Michigan district court in the county you received your ticket. You may need to provide some information, such as your:
- Full name.
- Driver's license number.
- License plate number.
Fines & Penalties for Commercial Drivers
If you have a commercial driver's license (CDL) in Michigan, you must notify your employer (in writing) within 30 days of being convicted of a traffic violation.
The MI SOS will suspend your CDL for 1 year if you're convicted of any serious offenses:
- Refusing to take a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- Driving a commercial vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.04% or higher.
- Operating a commercial vehicle while under the influence of a controlled substance.
- Fatality due to negligent use of a commercial vehicle.
- A felony offense committed while using a commercial vehicle (this includes distributing, manufacturing or dispensing a controlled substance.
- Leaving the scene of an accident involving your commercial vehicle.
- Operating a commercial vehicle when your CDL is suspended, revoked, disqualified or cancelled.
For more information, go to our CDL Suspensions in Michigan page.
Michigan Traffic Tickets: FAQs
For more information about the following topics, please visit our Michigan Traffic Ticket FAQ page:
- MI driving records.
- Car insurance rates.
- Traffic ticket attorneys.
- Not responding to a traffic ticket.