Personal Injury Attorneys in Michigan
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
Involvement in an injury-causing car accident can leave you in pain and with a lot to handle. A CO personal injury attorney can help you manage your case while representing your rights so you can focus on healing. When interviewing attorneys, ask certain questions to ensure you make a good choice. Finally, check out MI personal injury laws that can determine how and when you can move forward with your case.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not be used as such.
Hiring a MI Personal Injury Attorney
If you've been in a car crash, you know it can be traumatic. It can be particularly overwhelming to deal with all that comes after an accident when you've been injured. You'll be facing medical bills, doctor's appointments, and car insurance companies. You may also be dealing with pain and other effects of your injury.
A personal injury attorney can support you through your case, helping you negotiate and making sure you gather what you need as your case progresses. It can be especially helpful to have a personal injury attorney when you:
- Have very serious injuries as a result of the crash.
- Have exacerbated existing injuries.
- Are experiencing pain and suffering, emotional trauma, loss of companionship, or other non-economic losses.
- Are having trouble getting an appropriate settlement from the car insurance company.
Tips for Hiring a Personal Injury Lawyer
When you decide you want the help of a personal injury attorney, it's important to be smart about deciding on the right one.
As you choose an attorney, make sure to ask some questions upfront, including the following:
- What is your experience with personal injury law?
- How long have you been practicing law?
- Is personal injury your primary focus?
- How many cases have you won?
- Have you had any cases like mine?
- How long do you think it will take to resolve my case?
- Do you think I can win my case?
- What are your fees?
Remember, it's a good idea to interview several lawyers before settling on one.
MI Personal Injury Laws
Statute of Limitations
When it comes to personal injury lawsuits, you have only a certain time limit to file one. This is referred to as the “statute of limitations" and it differs slightly depending on the state.
In Michigan, you have 3 years from the date of the injury-causing accident to go to court and file a personal injury lawsuit.
If you do not bring the lawsuit within the statue of limitations period, you may be unable to bring your case to court at all.
NOTE: In certain cases, injured parties don't realize they incurred an injury from their accident until a later date. Because of this, there is an exception called a “discovery date" where the statute of limitations doesn't begin until the date you discovered your injury vs. the date of the accident.
No-Fault Auto Insurance
As a Michigan driver, it's essential to understand that no-fault laws apply for car insurance.
This means that you have to go through your own car insurance provider for compensation and CANNOT seek damages in court UNLESS one of the following occurred and is proven by medical evidence:
- The victim died.
- The victim suffered serious disfigurement.
- A bodily function is significantly impaired.
For questions, talk to a personal injury attorney in Michigan. He may be able to help you interpret the law and advise whether your injuries qualify to seek damages via a lawsuit.
MI Fault Laws
When you get into a car accident, you might find that the other driver's insurer tells you that you were partially at fault. When this happens, you can expect to see a decrease in the damages you're eligible to receive.
Every state has laws that deal with compensation is doled out when fault is shared amongst more than one driver. Michigan uses the modified comparative fault rule.
Here's how it works:
- Your potential compensation is REDUCED by the PERCENT OF FAULT you hold.
- For example, if you are 20% at fault and total damages are $50,000, you'll only be able to collect $40,000 (50k less 20%).
- If you are found to be 50% at fault or more, you are NOT able to collect ANY damages.
As you speak with the car insurance companies involved, you will likely hear about this law. Your MI personal injury lawyer can help you understand this law and how it can affect your compensation.