Accident Guide in Michigan
For a nominal fee, you can get your new registration sticker with next day delivery. Learn more below.
Licensed by the
|Online Registration||Online Registration|
|Same Day Processing||Same Day Processing|
|E-copy of Registration||E-copy of Registration|
|Alternate Mailing Address||Alternate Mailing Address|
|Phone Support||Phone Support|
|$29 Convenience Fee||Learn more below|
No one likes to think about being in an accident. Unfortunately, it's a situation that many folks face, possibly numerous times. You should be aware of what Michigan law requires you to do if you are in accident.
If you're in an accident, you must stop your vehicle immediately. Try to park it in a spot that will cause the least obstruction to other vehicles.
If someone is injured, you must either arrange for emergency help or stay on the scene until help arrives.
If there are injuries or property damage of over $1,000 involved, you must call the police.
You must give your name, address, and registration number, as well as show your driver's license, to either the police or the driver(s) or passenger(s) of the other vehicle(s) involved in the accident.
Failing to follow these rules could result in either a fine or imprisonment, or both.
For more information about what do if you're in an accident, consult the state's vehicle code.