Suspended License in Maine
Driver's License Suspension in Maine
In Maine, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) can suspend your driver's license for a number of reasons, including:
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol/drugs and other related offenses.
- Read more about DUI suspensions and penalties.
- Erratic/reckless driving.
- Accumulating too many driving record points.
- Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test.
- Violating state insurance laws.
On this page, you'll find information about your suspension and how to reinstate your license.
About Your Suspended License in Maine
The duration of your suspension will vary depending on your offense. You may also face court penalties and fines, including additional driver license suspensions.
When your driver's license is suspended or is pending a suspension, the Maine BMV will mail you a suspension notice, which includes:
- Information about your offense.
- The duration and start date of your suspended license.
- Administrative hearing information.
Your driver's license may be suspended for a period of:
- 150 days to 8 years for alcohol-related offenses, depending on the circumstances and number of offenses you've had.
- 90 days for violations including:
- Street racing.
- Passing a roadblock.
- Evading a police officer.
- 60 days for driving with a suspended license (additional suspension).
- 30 days for violations such as:
- Hit and runs.
- Falsifying information.
For specific information about your suspended license, refer to your suspension notice or contact the Maine BMV at (207) 624-9000.
Check Your Driver License Status
Traffic violations and accidents can lead to points on your Maine BMV driving record.
Accumulating too many driving record points can result in your license being suspended.
You can order your ME BMV driving record to:
- Check the status of your driver's license.
- Check your driving record points.
- View your traffic offenses.
ME Suspension Hearings and Appeals
Depending on your offense, you may be able to request an administrative hearing to contest your Maine driver license suspension. Your suspension notice will inform you whether or not you are eligible to request an administrative hearing and how to request one. Your suspension will also tell you if you can request an administrative hearing for other suspensions.
For information on rules governing Administrative Hearings may be obtained online or you can request a copy by mail:
- Division of Legal Affairs, Adjudications and Hearings Bureau of Motor Vehicles
29 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
NOTE: Maine BMV administrative hearings have no effect on court decisions.
An experienced traffic attorney can help you with your Maine license suspension and give you the support you need at your suspension hearing.
Reinstate Your Suspended Driver's License
Your reinstatement requirements will vary depending on the reason for your suspension.
To reinstate your Maine driver's license, you may need to:
- Satisfy your court requirements, if applicable.
- Submit a SR22 or proof of insurance with the ME BMV, if necessary.
- Complete an alcohol education program, if necessary.
- Retake the driving knowledge and skills tests.
- Pay the reinstatement fee. (See “Fees to Reinstate Your Suspended License" below.)
Refer to your suspension notice or contact your local Maine DMV office for specific reinstatement information.
Obtain a Restricted ME Driver's License
Depending on the circumstances of your suspension, you may be eligible for a restricted license, which allows you to drive to and from home and work.
To request a restricted driver's license:
- Complete a Work-Restricted Driver’s License Petition (Form DI-28).
- Mail your request to the address on the form.
NOTE: You may need to satisfy your reinstatement requirements before you can obtain a restricted license.
For more information, please contact the Maine BMV:
- (207) 624-9000.
- TTY: Maine relay 711.
Fees to Reinstate Your Suspended ME License
Your reinstatement fees will vary depending on the reason for your driver's license suspension. The fee should be on your suspension notice. If you have lost your notice and need to request a copy you will need to contact the records department which oversees the reason for your suspension.
NOTE: You may also need to pay additional court fines and fees, depending on your offense.
You can pay your Maine BMV reinstatement fees:
- In person at your local Maine BMV office.
- By calling:
- (207) 624-9000.
- TTY: Maine relay 711.
For specific fees to reinstate your suspended driver's license, refer to your suspension notice, or contact the Maine BMV.
Acceptable Forms of Payment
The Maine BMV accepts the following methods of payment for your suspended license reinstatement:
- In person: Contact your local Maine BMV office.
- By phone: VISA and MasterCard credit/debit card.