DMV Point System in Maine
Online Course -
Our course helps you learn quickly and easily, using state-specific questions and easy-to-understand answers.
- Study When & Where You Want
- 24/7 Customer Support
- 100% Money Back Guarantee
Driving may be fun, but it's definitely not a game. And any points you receive on your license have nothing to do with winning—in fact, they mean quite the opposite.
Read below to find out more about how the DMV point system works in Maine.
Maine Point System Basics
When you think of the points on your license, think of an old piece of fashion advice: “Less is more."
You'll earn demerit points on your Maine license each time you're convicted of or plead guilty to a moving violation.
How many points you'll see added to your record depends on the traffic ticket you received, but typically, the more serious the citation, the more points you'll get for it.
If you earn too many points, you could pay the price. The Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) issues the following consequences for demerit points on your license:
- 6 points: Warning letter.
- 12 points: License suspension.
But don't worry: Nothing lasts forever, not even demerit points. They'll be erased from your record 1 year after they're added.
Still, points may hurt you in other ways. Earning too many can have a negative impact on your auto insurance rate.
Keep reading to see how many points you may be on the hook for when committing some common violations.
NOTE: Commercial vehicle drivers may face additional penalties for points on their MD license.
Paying too much for car insurance? You could see your rate go up even more if you get too many points on your license. Find out more, including how you can help keep it as low as possible.
ME Point System Schedule
The amount of demerit points you receive in Maine depend on how serious the violation you committed was.
Below are some of the most common moving violations in ME and their corresponding points.
- Not using a turn signal: 2 points.
- Making an illegal U-turn: 2 points.
- Driving without working tail lights: 2 points.
- Driving over the speed limit by under 15 MPH: 4 points.
- Not yielding for an emergency vehicle: 4 points.
- Not obeying a stop sign: 4 points.
- Not stopping at a red light: 4 points.
- Driving 15 to 30 MPH over the speed limit: 6 points.
- Driving on the wrong side of the road: 6 points.
- Driving the wrong way down the road: 6 points.
If you don't see your ticket above, you can check out the full demerit point schedule in the state's driver handbook.
Knowledge is power! Mistakes on your driver history can be extremely costly. Make sure you know exactly how many demerit points you've accumulated when you order your Maine driving record.
Reducing Violation Points
If you're nervous about the amount of demerit points you've accumulated, don't worry. The points will naturally be dropped from your Maine driving record 1 year after they were added.
If you want to be more proactive about getting rid of the points, however, you can enroll in a Maine Driving Dynamics course.
If you successfully complete the class, the state will credit your record with 3 points. Check out the full schedule of available courses to see if one could work for you.